Sarah's Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Was trying to refresh my memory as to how my Mom has made applesauce over the years and came upon this recipe. I really didn't remember her putting in water at all, let alone sugar, but I gave this a try. And then recalled exactly that she didn't add h20 or sugar; this is far too sweet, and really needs no added water as apples let off so much of their own. I did can this, though, for later use (will be great stirred into plain yogurt, or as a side to pork!!) Anyway, in my reprised pot of sauce, I added a mere 1 tbsp of water for 6 apples and a little cinnamon and nutmeg. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
My family loved this applesauce. My husband is diabetic so I tweeked it a bit. Used combination of Gala, Honeycrisp, and Fuji apples (what I had and plus they are sweet too), and I substituted the sugar for Stevia in the Raw. I also doubled the cinnamon, because we are cinnamon lovers. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
This was delicious! My cousin is also on this site and reccomended it to me. I will try it with Splenda to make it free on WW. It is soooooo much better than store bought, heavenly with a bit of whipped cream, on top of pancakes. Mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Had a bunch of apples that needed to be used up. Used 12 apples - peeled, sliced and put in the slow cooker. 1/2 cup sugar, 1 full tsp of cinnamon and 1 cup water. On high for 3 hours. Used potato masher to mash up. Worked great and tasted even better! A great way to use up apples and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I never peel the apples, just leave them on and in the food processor they just become part of the mix.sweeten with a bit of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I had some green apples and wanted to try to make apple sauce ,I came across this recipe. Very easy to make, cooked over a low heat until soft but the only difference I made was to add some fresh lemon juice. I'm proud of myself for my first attempt and this recipe. So easy to make and taste yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Asher

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Holmfirth, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Excellent, substituted the sugar with Splenda as another review indicated, but it's reaaly good as given! Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buttertash
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
super easy, super tasty. I would cut down on the sugar because the apples I used were small and sweet. great applesauce recepie nevertheless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buttertash

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I made this for Easter to accompany Ham. I was very pleased with the results. My nephew and brother-in-law had seconds! I will add some nutmeg also next time and maybe less cinnamon. I used fuji and macintosh apples. Very easy and adds a nice touch to dinner without a lot of fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I used Gala apples. It was so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,715) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States