Sarah Contona's Sweet Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
yummie..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thursty9
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Super moist! I used Lactaid skim milk pulsated to a light cream vs. the cream cheese/light cream the recipe calls for. I also added cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter to give it that fall flavor. The pie itself it not too sweet, so I opted for the large marshmallows instead of the mini ones. What I ended up getting was marshmallow with a side of pie, so DO NOT SUBSTITUTE the marshmallows. This pie was still gone in about 15 minutes, so it wasn't a complete fail, but I will be sure to stick closer to the recipe for the next go 'round. Definitely worth a try for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thursty9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
My entire family is sweet potato enthusiasts. My grandmother who is no longer with us "made the very best"; however, I cannot believe the very words out of my own mother's mouth when I made this recipe... yep "this is the best I've ever had!" (This was even after telling me that NO ONE CAN MAKE IT BETTER THAN GRANDMA! PERIOD!) I rarely ever follow a recipe exactly and I cant say I did here BUT I did follow the ingredients and added minimally based on taste. My mother swears by it and so do I so I'll write down exactly what measurements I use this time Thanksgiving and share... THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS RECIPE AUNT PHYLLIS and JEREMY :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This recipe is awesome. I have been making it for the past six years and every year somebody always asks me for the recipe. My only alteration is I use premade grahm cracker pie crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I have never liked sweet potatoes. But I was bound and determined to find a way to fix them so that my kids would at least try them. This is the recipe for that! Now, I like sweet potatoes too! But they have to be in pie form! I did use a premade crust, because I cannot make a graham cracker crust that holds together, but it was the filling that was the star at Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I made this today for a trial run for Thanksgiving. It was good, but I agree with some of the others, it could use a little more sugar, and a touch of cinnamon. Im going to make another one this weekend, with some tweaks. we'll see if it's better, or if I ruin a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racheleatsalot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Not too bad. I left off the marshmallows since I made it the night before our church lunch. Just before I served it I spread some sweetened sour cream on the top. The crust was not my favorite part and I will change that next time to a regular pie crust. Again, I made the filling in my food processor to get a smooth texture. I went to three stores to find light cream but no luck so I used half and half and it turned out really rich. My girls decided though that it was more like Sweet Potato Cheesecake than pie. Was it a hit at church? Well, about 100 people ate and my pie was the first desert gone and I shared the recipe with almost all of the ladies there. So yeah, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving and my family is crazy over it. The only reason I didn't give it a five is because it makes way too much filling. Even my husband, who won't come within ten feet of cream cheese loved it. I'll be making it again for Christmas, but I'll use a pre-made graham cracker crust to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andicaity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I am a brand new "cook" if you will at age 36, and decided to try this recipe out on Thanksgiving. I live in AZ but was born & bred in Philly, so I saw the use of Philly Cream Cheese & decided to give this a try. A+ for sure, 5 stars, it was gone in about 5 minutes, that I had to go to the store on black friday to buy more to make for my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I increased the sugar to 3/4 c because I'm not sure that this dish was intended to be a dessert. I added 1 t cinnamon and 2T whisky. 1.5 T vanilla was enough. I put it through my food processor to make it smoother. Crust: I needed a few T more butter for the crust. I added 1/2 c finely chopped pecans to the crust. I wasn't sure it if was supposed to go up the sides but I did get it up the sides about an inch. When the pie was done, I added the marshmallows and put the broiler on to very lightly brown the marshmallows, then chilled it. I called it sweet potato cheesecake. Even the kids liked it (the marshmallows helped).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boyce, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States