Sara Jane's Oatmeal Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I made this, with some changes. I used a 6" round baking dish and made a 2 layer cake, it baked perfectly in 35mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
THIS IS SO MOIST. EVERY TIME I MAKE IT I GET REQUESTS FOR THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Cake was very dense but enjoyable, topping was more like a thin macaroon than a frosting? We all liked it, all ate it - but it was a bit odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I usually like to make a recipe as it is, without any changes, the first time. I liked the nutmeg flavor---delicate, mellow. I was not concerned about the "wet oatmeal" ingredient, as I have a chocolate cake recipe made the same way. There was definitely a variance with the cooking time---it took an hour instead of 45 minutes. I just kept checking it every 5 minutes. Next time, I'll use a larger pan than recommended. I remember a delicious broiled-topping cake from my Jr. High school cafeteria. They didn't skimp on the topping, and it always sold out early. I actually plan on increasing the amount of broiled topping on this oatmeal cake recipe the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
i doubled the recipe (used a 2" full pan) and upped the oven temp by 25 degrees. it was done in 18 minutes and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Tasty cake! Took quite a bit longer than stated in the recipe- about 60 minutes here. Used cinnamon instead of nutmeg. Skipped the homemade frosting and to save time, used the store bought coconut pecan frosting. Really tasty! Will used this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
i made this with high expectations. Took much longer to bake than was told. I used half the butter it said to use in the topping. I also used butter instead of shortening in the cake and added a little cinnamon. Easy to make. Very moist! Couldn't taste the oats or even tell it had oats in it (texture)! Taste was ok, but nothing great. much better next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tresha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Delicious. Just cook the topping on top of the stove first, it will thicken up then spread and broil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
The cake was great, but the 'frosting' top wasn't so thrilling. Definitely too much butter. After spreading it on, I waiting a minute for it to settle & then I had to get paper towels to blot up a LOT of butter. I'm a butter lover, too, so I was a little shocked at how greasy it would have been had I not done that. I'd prefer a thicker topping, a ganache maybe? But the cake was excellent, a BIG hit w/ my 2 & 4 year olds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2many

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I added a single serve cup of peach mango flavored applesauce. My husband ate half the cake first night. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clayton, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bolling Afb, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States