Santa's Whiskers I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I just tried this recipe, and the cookies seemed to be very greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette Madden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Wonderful cookies, not too sweet. Have used this recipe for years but had misplaced it. Played around with the oven temps as everyone has there own theory of perfect temperature. Definitely 12 minutes at 375. Tried it at 350 and every 2 minutes checked it...it took a total of 16 minutes at 350 and was not as happy with the outcome at a lower temperature. Next time will try and mix the coconut in with the dough and use dried cranberries, that sounds really interesting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: North Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I have been making these for years also. I have never had a problem with the dough, but my version calls for ONLY 3/4 CUP BUTTER. I always use real butter and freeze the logs overnight or longer before baking for easier slicing. I also substitute chopped maraschino cherries (drained on paper towels) for the candied ones. I may try cranberries one reviewer used. The BEST part of the cookie for my family is the FINAL STEP I added. After cooling drizzle dark chocolate in one direction over the cookies and then white chocolate in another direction. It adds a lot to the taste and makes the cookies beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Turned out great! i rolled the dough out on parchment paper then put the coconut on top of the dough and around it and rolled them out that way then just rolled them up in the parchment paper and stuck them in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katiec4717

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Thank you for posting this old fashioned favorite. Thankfully, JJ, you posted this recipe here at allrecipes. My daughter and I were thrilled when we read Tamaralynn's comments and suggestions. We followed them and the cookies turned out terrific! Thank you, JJ, Tamaralynn and allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I've made these for years. My family doesn't care for Coconut,so I roll them in powered sugar.Before I cut them We love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Great cookies! I have been using this recipe for years, - but there are a few tricks!!! Cream butter, sugar, add vanilla then milk. Stir well, add cherries and pecans (don’t stir until you add the dry ingredients)) Mix dry ingredients in another bowl… then add a bit at a time to the wet mixture while you stir. Once you add the last bit - knead the dough with your hands. If the dough doesn't stick well, add a tiny bit of milk at a time until you get a good form. Break balls in half… and roll into 3 inch logs, then roll the logs into the coconut (if you want a better coating of coconut… brush the outside of the dough logs lightly with milk before rolling). You can freeze this for a couple of hours - then slice and cook, but it's best sitting in the fridge over night. The tip to not get the coconut to burn, is to slice the cookies very thinly (approx 1/4 inch), and either line your cookie pans with silicon sheets or parchment paper. Keep an eye on the first batch until you know the desired time! Recipe says 375F… I say 350F! Check them at 10 minutes, then add a couple of minutes to that (if needed). You want the bottoms golden, not dark - and the cookie should still be a little moist… Leave them on the pan until they cool (they will finish cooking this way)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I love the way these taste, BUT the centers won't bake before the coconut turns very brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this with a friend a couple weeks ago, but she uses chopped dried cranberries instead of candied fruit. Absolutely delicious cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I've been making these for years! Yes the dough is very sticky but I sprinkle the coconut on wax paper and shape the dough into logs while I'm rolling in coconut and then put them in the freezer. After they are frozen I take out and slice for baking. Great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States