Santa's Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
The cake icing was great and my kids loved the crushed candycane on the sides but the cake was not so good. The red batter was extremely thick it actually pulled a beater out of my mixer! It was then very difficult to spread in the cake pan. Let's just say the entire cake making process was not the best and in the end it wasn't the greatest tasting cake either. Luckily my kids prefer the icing anyway. I don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I give this a five star for taste. I didn't prepare it, my early-teens daughter did over the holidays. I noticed it in my recipe box, and now 9 months after Christmas I just had a wonderful brilliant image of our holiday! Such a clean texture and bright taste, not to mention a very merry presentation! I can't wait to have this again. A great alternative to the fruit inspired and heavily chocolate laden cakes that usually grace our holiday desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
LOVE it! I have made it 3 Christmases in a row. Kids love it, guests love it, I love it. Super yummy and sweet! Fun to make and fun to eat with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This cake was way too sweet for my liking, and I really like sweet things. I brought this to Christmas dinner. Hardly any of it was eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shaken_not_stirred
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I called it a "Candy Cane Cake" and it was the perfect ending at my in-law's Christmas dinner this year! Minor adjustments I made to the recipe: I used a box of Red Velvet Cake mix and made it per box instructions except substituted buttermilk for water. Also, the frosting is not nearly enough... I softened 2 cream cheese and blended it with 1 1/2 cups of softened butter, then added 3-16 oz pkgs of powdered sugar. The peppermint extract was perfect as is (2 tsp). I baked the cake mixes separately, each in a 9" cake pan, at 350 for 50 minutes, cut off the dome tops, split the layers in half and alternated red/white/red/white, so that it looked like a candy cane when sliced (see before/after photos). Everyone LOVED it, especially served with a scoop of chocolate ice cream! Yummmptious!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaken_not_stirred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this cake last year for Christmas and got rave reviews. It is amazing! Tip: don't put the crushed candy canes on til the last minute; they tend to get melty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I only made the icing for my son's first birthday party but it was AMAZING!! Everyone loved the icing. I made chocolate cupcakes and to me together they tasted like Andes mints :) I did have to add a small amount of milk to get the cream cheese and milk to blend but other wise perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I have made this recipe for years and always deliver the perfect cake to my office Christmas parties and receive the best compliments. I follow the recipe to the letter and come out with moist, perfect cakes every time. The peppermint isn't overpowering even at the amount listed. As an extra touch, I scatter crumbled bits of star peppermint candy across the top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Great cake! Took it to a party and brought home an empty plate. I didn't put all the sugar in the icing, but that left me a little tight on finishing. I think next time I will used more cream cheese, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made this in a sheet cake pan, and it was exceptionally moist. I made the frosting to taste rather than what was called for in the recipe and added finely crushed candy canes to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Campbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States