Santa's Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
THESE ARE AMAZING!! Do yourself a favor and make these. You will not be disappointed. They are worth the extra little work. Trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These were pretty good - I did misread the directions a bit and added the whole 3/4 cup sugar to the dough instead of reserving 1/4 cup for rolling - no harm done, though, as the cookies tasted good. We're not cherry fans, so I skipped those and did a mix of white and semi-sweet chocolate chips in the centers. Pretty tasty, but does require some work. My only recommendation is to use Ghirardelli White Chocolate Chips, as they melt much nicer than any other brand I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
These are pretty good. I only used the cookie part not the filling because I wanted to use mint flavored kiss as filling. I also used skorr pieces as filling and those ones seemed to be the favorite in my class. I tested them out on my class as I will be doing the bake sale for my husbands work so these are a deffinate yes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Mine were picture perfect. I wasnt real crazy about the cinnamon though. Next time I will make them without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This is the only cookie my kids and I make at Christmas, and it is a tradition we all love. I use dark corn syrup and Heath toffee bits (less work). Yield is 48 cookies. This can be a time intensive cookie to bake, so don't rush yourself with batches of cookies coming out every 7-8 minutes...make sure white chocolate chips go on as soon as the cookies are out of the oven, allow them to melt for several minutes, and then we like to stir the melted chips with a toothpick and quickly add the toffee bits and cherries. I also find it helpful to drain the cherry halves on a paper towel before placing on the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
These were very good! Instead of doing the toffee thing, I put andes mints in the middle. I also added a bit of mint extract to the sugar and then rolled the balls. They tasted like thin mints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Awesome! Melted some white candi-quik bars and spooned that into the middle of each and then had a variety of toppings pre-chopped (candy cane, almonds, pretzel bits, chocolate chips, sprinkles) and let my kids have a fun decorating party as they came out of the oven (transferred cookies to a cool sheet first so they wouldn't burn themselves on hot sheets). Turned out beautifully - quite festive with all the different topping combos the kids came up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These tasted OK right after we cooked them. However, I ended up waiting about 2 days before I got to have another and they were amazing then! So, make them a day or 2 ahead of when you need them. We put the cherry on ours and they looked cute and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I liked the cookies, but I could not get the chips to melt in them. The first batch I added the chips after baking, they did not melt. Second batch I added them before baking. Still, I could not get them to melt. I used white and peunut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States