Santa's Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
These are tasty, but kind of a project to make. The first time I tried them, I think I didn't chill the dough long enough because they spread while baking and I ended up with one giant chocolate cookie. I tried them again and chilled the dough overnight and they didn't spread, but they were a bit on the crunchy side. I'd make them again because they are definitely festive, especially if you can find the white chocolate chips that have red and green stripes on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
don't forget to roll in sugar mix,I did on first batch, and they were not good . . . when I did roll them in suger/cinnamon the cookie itself was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Wesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
These were very good. I accidentally added the cinnamon to the dough instead of rolling the cookies in it, and I liked it better that way. I used crushed candy canes instead of cherries and toffee chips. They were very Christmasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These are very soft, delectable cookies. In my oven, they had to be baked 9 minutes. We will try them peanut butter chips and crushed reeses pieces next time. Over all, a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Hollis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Made for a cookie exchange '08. Made a very pretty presentation! Easy, but, time consuming to make. Tasted yummy...I wouldn't leave the cherry off! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
We made these for Christmas gifts this year and they were a huge hit with my family! They're very attractive once they're done, and they were delicious as well! They take a bit of time to make and top, but they were totally worth it. My uncle couldn't wait to dig in when we were opening presents, he'd already eaten several by the time we were done! I'd call that a win! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
A VERY pretty cookie indeed, and easy to make. I don't think it had enough chocolate flavor, so I intend on adding more cocoa next time. Using Dutch process cocoa would make it a more intense flavor. I happened to have a half and half blend on hand (half plain, half Dutch). My husband loved the hard exterior, chewy interior, and loved even more the creaminess of the white chocolate blending with the other flavors. You can even top it with crumbled candy canes or starlight mints. Make sure when mixing the flour/cocoa mixture into the butter mixture that you add a little at a time and mix it in thoroughly before adding more flour/cocoa mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YHWH Bread of Life

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
My family loves these cookies. I have also made them with chocolate/carmel swirls and also peanut butter chips. Taste great anyway you make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I loved this recipe!. I did modify it a bit the second time around. I didn't use the cherries & I substituted regular chocolate instead of white. This batch came out very rich & chocolatey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JETAUNBRAESE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These will be on our cookie tray every Christmas! Others advice to work on one pan at a time as they come out of the oven is the best idea. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States