Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
My family loves tri tip and we really enjoy this recipe. I use 1 tsp of Dijon mustard. I also used balsamic vinegar too when I was out of red wine vinegar. Both are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Terrific results! Followed the recipe exactly and grilled the tri-tip on a Weber charcoal grill. It turned out juicy and had wonderful beefy flavor. This was a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
My husband and I think this is the best tri tip recipe ever. We would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I made this last night and it was the BOMB! My husband said I have to make the next tri tip this way again. I love that all the ingredients are all natural. The only thing I did different was mince the garlic and I didn't have paprika so I used chili powder. I also didn't cut the meat as others have suggested and it still came out super juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I was raised on SM style BBQ & absolutely love it..pinquito beans(a bean from Lompoc), garlic bread, salad & salsa..the best. I use Suzie Q seasoning for it (& use it in everything else I cook) over red oak (it's just not the same without it). The vinegar basting mixture just adds that much more flavor to all the seasonings. Us Santa Marian's are very passionate about our BBQ & nothing else compares!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I had a hankering for SMBBQ (grew up in Lompoc, CA, just a half hour south) so I used this recipe to make a dinner for the family. Boy, did we all scarf it down! Today I did a repeat. In the past I've just done 'dry SMBBQ' with the garlic salt, black pepper, cayenne pepper, and oregano, but since finding this, I guarantee I'll be finishing it hot off the grill with the red wine vinaigrette. It is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Wow! This was great. I followed the directions exactly however I cut the crushed garlic down to one clove. Wife and kids loved it. Will definitely make again. I don't really care if The Santa Maria residents state that it doesn't taste like Santa Maria style. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I am a big fan of Chef John's recipes and being born & raised in Santa Maria, CA i was skeptical of this change from the traditional Santa maria style seasonings of garlic salt w/parsley, black pepper, and beer(optional). I BBQ'd 2 tri-tips this weekend, 1 traditional and 1 using this recipe. Both were delicious, but heavily critiqued, as is the Santa Maria way when it comes to such serious business as tri-tip! Many people said this 1 tasted as if i had used seasoned salt instead of garlic salt, others disliked the mustard/ vinegar flavor. I personally think this recipe tastes more like San Luis Obispo (SLO) style which is usually served w/ bbq sauce than Santa Maria style which is usually served with homemade salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very tasty as is, but If you have the time and a smoker this can be amazing! First, salt with kosher salt and refrigerate for 24 hours. Next, coat meat with olive oil and rub with dry ingredients, minus black pepper. Also, I like chipotle way better than cayenne. Wrap tightly with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight (yes, that makes two days). Preheat smoker to 165-180 degrees and place cold meat straight from the fridge over active smoke (for this I like roughly 50% oak, 40% cherry and 10% mesquite). Smoke until internal temp reaches 100-105 degrees, then place the meat on the grill over a bed of hot coals. Baste with vinegar sauce. Sear but try not to burn the meat too much. Grill to 130 degrees internal then remove from the grill and hit all sides with a little freshly ground black pepper, tent with foil and let stand for about 5 minutes or so. Slice 1/4 inch thick cross grain. Magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
It's an okay trip-tip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States