Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very tasty as is, but If you have the time and a smoker this can be amazing! First, salt with kosher salt and refrigerate for 24 hours. Next, coat meat with olive oil and rub with dry ingredients, minus black pepper. Also, I like chipotle way better than cayenne. Wrap tightly with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight (yes, that makes two days). Preheat smoker to 165-180 degrees and place cold meat straight from the fridge over active smoke (for this I like roughly 50% oak, 40% cherry and 10% mesquite). Smoke until internal temp reaches 100-105 degrees, then place the meat on the grill over a bed of hot coals. Baste with vinegar sauce. Sear but try not to burn the meat too much. Grill to 130 degrees internal then remove from the grill and hit all sides with a little freshly ground black pepper, tent with foil and let stand for about 5 minutes or so. Slice 1/4 inch thick cross grain. Magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This will be tops when readied with Sous Vide hot water oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InventorNC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I lived in Santa Maria, CA for 13 years. Tri-tip is a must have. This recipe includes a lot of ingredients nobody ever used. Simply put, salt, pepper, garlic powder, some parsley, soak it in beer for a while and always bbq'd on red oak. No need for all that other stuff. In fact, if you look up Santa Maria Style Seasoning, you will see these simple ingredients listed. Try it this way for the true Santa Maria flavor. It's unforgettable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I live in San Luis Obispo just north of Santa Maria and Tri Tips are a main stay in this part of CA. Not only are they incredible rubbed or marinated and put on a smoker using red oak but they are great BBQ'd over oak. The Tri Tip is such a versatile cut of meat that it can be cut into steaks for BBQing or pounded out to make some very tasty chicken fried steak and a Tri Tip also makes a great pot roast. Tri Tips have always been called Tri Tips, a sirloin tip roast is something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
We live in Santa Maria and this is nothing like Santa Maria-style tri-tip. Vinegar? Really!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
For those of you who are not familiar with name trip tip, this cut is better known as a serlion tip roast. I hate it when they rename cuts of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I grew up in Santa Maria and ate a LOT of Santa Maria style tri-tip. This recipe does not taste anything like the tri-tip BBQ I grew up on. It's an okay trip-tip recipe, but should not be called "Santa Maria" grilled tri-tip beef. You can purchase (and use) Susie-Q's brand seasoning mix if you want a more authentic SM style BBQ tri-tip and BBQ the meat over red oak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Living in central California I have to say this recipe is right on... During the summer the air permeates with the scent and smells of BBQ tri-tip/oak. Of course tri-tips are plentiful here. I have my oak branches (also plentiful here) dried and cut, ready for the summer grilling. Good one Chef John. I do marinate much longer though..at least 24 hours. Also I take the meat off the grill at no more then 120 degrees F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Or You can place your beef in an oven pan and pour McCormicks garlic and peppercorn packet on top of the beef ...and have a delicious never fail dish...saves lots of measuring and effort..and better than putting the ingredients together yourself...is my opinion...used it for years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Konos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
The seasoning is very good, but it does need to be grilled over Red Oak chips. That's what brings the wonderful flavor out in the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States