Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
We loved this. I used 1 T fresh rosemary instead of dry, and omitted the mustard. For the marinade, I pulverized the vinegar, oil and garlic in the blender, using double the garlic, to make a paste. Instead of grilling, I pan browned each side for 4 about minutes at medium high heat, and finished in oven at 425 degrees for about 25 minutes. (About 10 minutes per pound.) It came out rare which we like. Make sure to let the meat rest for at least 20 minutes before slicing against the grain. The seasonings are great. Phenomenal recipe. I will next try the recipe with the Oregon Rub but do not see how it can top this. With the Roast Potatoes (on this site) with Rosemary and Garlic, and salad, this was a very delicious meal. Thank you very much for this recipe. I cannot remember a better Tri Tip roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Made this exactly as directed except I left the seasoning on the meat all day instead of just 4 hours and I turned the grill heat down from high to medium. It turned out great. Definitely will have this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
my hubby and son liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Been getting our Tri-Tip from a restaurant that features Tri ONLY.I've used this recipe four times now and it just gets better and better.Would never get the restaurant meat again.I felt like taking pictures of last nights meal but thought that might be 'bragging'.It wasn't me..it was the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This was a total Home Run right out of the batter's box!!! I really pride myself in grilling especially steaks. I have to tell you it was about the best grilled beef I have ever had!!! The only advice I would give would be to check your meat temp after 25 minutes. Mine was done at that point. If I went with 35 as mentioned I would have over cooked it. Grills vary as most outdoor cooks know. Try it and you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Delicious marinade with many layers of flavor. Very good detailed instructions about how to grill this for the best results. However, cooking on high started a fire with black billowing smoke. Probably from the oil in the marinade. My advise is to lower the flame a bit after getting it on the grill. It was very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
My family loves tri tip and we really enjoy this recipe. I use 1 tsp of Dijon mustard. I also used balsamic vinegar too when I was out of red wine vinegar. Both are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Terrific results! Followed the recipe exactly and grilled the tri-tip on a Weber charcoal grill. It turned out juicy and had wonderful beefy flavor. This was a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
My husband and I think this is the best tri tip recipe ever. We would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I made this last night and it was the BOMB! My husband said I have to make the next tri tip this way again. I love that all the ingredients are all natural. The only thing I did different was mince the garlic and I didn't have paprika so I used chili powder. I also didn't cut the meat as others have suggested and it still came out super juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States