Santa Fe Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was really tasty! I don't know if I would call it a soup... more like a cheesy chili. Anyway, it's good! This would be a great soup for football Sundays; it is very rich and filling. I halved the recipe, omitted the onions, added a clove of garlic that I sauteed with the meat. I added a generous shake of taco seasoning and used a can of Mexicorn instead of regular corn. Served with homemade tortillas for dipping. Very good, thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I used Ro-Tel which made it somewhat spicy (too spicy for my 10-yr old). My 13-yr old and husband loved it, though! I also added some taco seasoning and sprinkled tortilla chips as a garnish. Afraid to think how fattening it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I cooked the onions with the ground beef, as reviewed. I used some leftover canned tomatoes and salsa that I probably wouldn't have used otherwise, in place of the tomatoes listed. Great to eat with chips and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Yummy and very, very easy! I used venison instead of beef (seasoned w/ taco seasoning), and kidney beans instead of ranch-style beans. This is a good, quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARCIFARTSI

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I made this for my husbands pot luck at work. I did not want to send it after I tasted it. It was delish. Before he came home I had an email from his coworker begging for the recipe! I am making this again tonight for dinner...cant wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was easy to make and had a good flavor. I might try using shredded cheddar cheese next time because I feel Velveeta can often be salty. I also sauteed the onion first. Overall nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artworkbykaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This is one of my families favorites. We all love it. This soup is so hardy that we use tortilla chips instead of a spoon to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I also do as S. Orlando does with this and use it as a dip. I've been making it for years, only adding in taco seasoning for added flavor boost. Whenever I make it, I always make copies of the recipe on 3x5 cards for the guests. Everyone always wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I have made this many times but I don't consider it soup. It's great to put in a crock pot and serve as a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savanah Orlando

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sublette, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Awesome recipe!!! Made it when family came over and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States