Santa Fe Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is a fantastic Mexican / taco soup. I couldn't find ranch-style beans so I used chili beans and used all the other ingredients plus added 2 jalapeño peppers and a dash of chili powder and cumin. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Love this recipe! It's a hearty soup that's not to spicy for my kids. I've made it as is before and it's great, but I prefer real american cheese over the Velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was an okay recipe, not outstanding or worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Very easy to make and my husband loved it. I recommend not leaving the soup on warm on the eye because it burned the rest of the batch. That was my fault. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Very easy and tasty. Mu husband made it and it was really good. He said it was very simple to make - just cook the beef and then throw it all in the pot to simmer. We had it with salad to make give us some nice crunchy green stuff along with the chunk, creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe! I used only 2/3 of the cheese due to other reviews that said it was more like a dip than a soup and cooked the onions with my hamburger and added some garlic with the meet as well. Didn't have ranch beans so I added a can of black eyed peas and they soaked up the flavors wonderfully. Rave reviews by EVERYONE!!!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Made this receipe exactly as written and it had a very bland flavor. Added a few spices and still didn't make flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jklehto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Yummy! I sauteed' the onion with garlic cause we like garlic. Added some southwestern spice, a little crushed red pepper and we were ready to go. For serving, I sprinkled with some chopped cilantro, a dollop of sour cream and sprinkled with some taco chips. I would call this more of a "chowder" than a soup, but delicious just the same. For those reviewers concerned about type of bean...add the kind you like i.e. kidney, black or pinto. And, if you like a less thick consistency, do what another reviewer suggested.....add some broth. Thumbs up for this cool weather soup here in the midwest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This will be great on a cold, winter day. A little heavy with the cheesy taste, but makes an excellent dip with taco shells. My daughter-in-law went back for seconds...well,knock me over with a leaf! I think I'll reserve all the liquids and add them as needed to make a dip, but needs a little more liquid to be a "real" soup. But this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Papa Joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
Photo by SUSANNE C. SWISHER
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Excellent soup, easy to follow recipe. I gave four stars because I had to double the Velveeta to get the texture I wanted, but I think that is a personal taste thing. I love the whole kernel corn, it adds texture, and a little sweetness. I am vegetarian, so used reconstituted Textured Vegetable Protein (TVP) {2 cups dry} for the ground beef. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a T. Yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANNE C. SWISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States