Santa Fe Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This recipe is so different from the typical salad, and I loved it. It is such a beautiful, healthy, delicious dish. I used brown rice and that was terrific (although I'm a white rice rice lover and want to try that next). I would advise serving the avocado on the side if you're not sure about the tastes of those who will consume it. I made this for a potluck that required gluten-free and vegetarian dishes -- not an easy thing to accommodate -- and it was a hit. My gluten-free aunt continues to rave about this salad months later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySJ
Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was so good! I did add cilantro, garlic and celery. I replaced vegetable oil with olive oil. Best rice salad I've ever made. I was surprised how well it tasted the second day after reading some of the reviews. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I took this salad to a school luncheon. Everyone loved it. I did follow the suggestion for using garlic flavored rice vinegar and adding red and yellow bell pepper. I took the liberty of adding chicken as well. Turned out Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This salad is wonderful. I made it with brown rice and as other posters have stated it's very fresh. Add a bit of dressing to adjust to your preference instead of just pouring it all on. I'm not a fan of that much olive oil in my food. I'll definately be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Refreshing salad. I used orzo instead of rice ,but kept true to the recipe otherwise. Once made and tasted (Perfectly fine as is) I added more black beans, yellow corn, yellow & red peppers for a personal touch. So whether you stay exact to recipe or doctor it up a little bit it is a nice change from the usual salads at BBQs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This was just okay. I was actually a bit disappointed because it sounded so good. Just seemed like it was missing something... and I added cilantro and lime juice. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle2828

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Very good. Next time I will try using orzo instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This is a great cold rice salad... you can prepare just as listed and be delighted.  I decided to add 2 tablespoons of fresh garlic and 2 tablespoons of fresh cilantro. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
i liked it a lot, although it was strong in the vinegar taste. i ate it with a lot of lettuce which made it a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I love this recipe! It is very refresing. Would be fantasic for a backyard BBQ. The flavors are clean and fresh! I did add crushed garlic to the oil and let sit for a bit and I think next time I would forget about the cheese all together and add some fresh corn kernels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States