Santa Fe Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Excellent salad as is, I did make a couple changes though based on other reviewers ~ omitted cheese, added cumin and lime juice and used Olive Oil instead of Veg Oil. Let it sit for a few hours to get the flavours to meld. Very good and I was able to use up leftover rice and black beans from the weekend (it's nice to find a recipe that you can throw things leftover together!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
It was a big hit, even with my Mexican sister in-law. I made it without the avocado (I did not have one). I also added a can of drained/rinsed red beans. The dressing, though simple was real good. Unique pot luck dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Yummy! I used instant white rice and half a can of black beans, olive oil in place of the veg. oil. This was a nice salad! Oh I didn't have any avocado so I left that out and used serrano peppers for the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This made a great quick lunch wrapped in a flour tortilla! Really tasty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was just ok for me. My husband said it was too vinegary, but I didn't think that was the problem. I just think it really needed some seasoning. After I added some garlic powder and a little chili powder it was better, but still not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
GREAT recipe! I love the vinegar in it - it gives it just the right amount of tanginess. I added one ear of corn since I had some left over in the fridge and I liked it in the salad. Excellent! I served it with tacos (made with seasoning from this website!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
PHENOMENAL!! Admittedly, I had a few small changes that I didn't necessarily intend on, but here they were. I opted to leave out the cheese as I didn't feel that it would lend much to this salad, plus, the extra calories are not required with so many other flavours going on! I realized I was actually out of jalapenos (abnormal!), so ended up adding in some chipotle chili powder and some superb dried spice mix that has chilies and jalapenos in it. I did use more equal amounts of vinegar and oil as I always change those ratios for my salads. I used some white balsamic/red wine vinegar along with really good quality olive oil. This salad was honestly to die for, seriously! My original goal was to use up my lone avocado, I hate to waste any of them! A repeat for sure, one you can make a meal out of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is only 5 points for Weight Watchers by switching the cheese for fat free cheddar for a serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SENNMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
WOW!!!! Superb with the following changes: 1. Dried black beans soaked overnight and cooked the next day in water with chicken base (or bullion), beef base, garlic powder, onion powder, garlic salt, cumin, greek seasoning and chili powder. 2. Brown rice baked in water with chicken base, beef base, onion powder, garlic powder and olive oil. 3. Add to salad: corn, cilantro, green pepper 4. Dressing: olive oil, red wine vinegar, sugar, cumin, greek seasoning and NO SALT. Now its wonderfully delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. This had no taste .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States