Santa Fe Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Yum! A hit! Might get 5 stars...everyone liked it & it was almost finished by 4 people as a side dish (to a small meal). I forgot the avocado. Omitted onions due to someone's preference. Very good, would make again; maybe more veggies would be nice, some chopped peppers or so for crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
I took the advice of some of the others and used a can of diced green chiles. All in all this was pretty good but I thought the dressing was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 5, 2005
My boyfriend is not very fond of rice, but he loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This salad was excellent! Followed recipe exactly. Next time will double the jalapeno for a little more zip. Will also add some chopped cilantro for flavor just because I love it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This is great. I add fresh minced garlic to the water before cooking the rice, and I also like to add some chopped cilantro to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticdiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This was pretty good. I didnt have tomatoes so I used a can of Rotel. I think next time I will mix 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1/2 cup of salsa - I like a creamier dressing instead of a vinegar. Good for lunch though - thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
i added some finely chopped, sauteed ham. for the dressing i used half & half red wine vinegar & apple cider. i also didn't have jalepenos on had so i used 1-2 tsp. of a cajun seasoning mix instead. it was delicious & unique! A+ for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Great recipe! I've made it several times. It goes well with my daughter and I who are vegetarian and also with my non-vegetarian husband and son. Will continue to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Great recipe - very colorful. I modified it by adding lots of chopped sweet peppers (red, orange, yellow and green), some red onion along with the green onions, lots more jalapenos, less oil in the dressing (2:1 with the vinegar), less dressing overall based on other comments, reduced fat shredded cheddar (couldn't tell the difference), and cumin in the dressing. Will definately make again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
This is a refreshing and unique salad. I am always looking for an alternative summertime (cold) side dish (pasta and potato salads get old after a while), and you just don't see many rice salads! I used basmati rice and it stayed nice and firm even after a couple days. I increased the rice to 1 cup (2c water), and used the same amount of dressing and it was perfect - it was all soaked up. I left out the jalepenos (kids) and avacado's too - just don't have those around, but added a little salsa (had about 1/2 cup in fridge) and about a tsp of McCormic Santa Fe spice blend, and it was wonderful! A nice healthy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States