Santa Fe Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Loved it! As others suggested I added some garlic when cooking the rice. I doubled the vinegrette and added 1 tsp cumin, and poured this over the black beans while I was preparing the rest. I also added a small can of corn, and left out the avocado. I used white wine vinegar and basmati rice. It was very delicious and will be a regular. Nice and colorful for taking to a party too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Very, very good. Took this salad to a luncheon with friends and all wanted the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nzingha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lampertheim, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I thought this was quite good. We did use white wine vinegar, 2 cloves of garlic, diced red pepper and cucumber, and about 1/2 t. cumin. I only added about 1/4 c. cheese to cut down fat. Next time I might add crisp white corn kernels instead of cucumber (which was what I had on hand to add some crunch). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I served this as a side for Baja Chipotle Fish Tacos & while I really enjoyed it, my hubby & grandson did not. I did make a couple of changes...I omitted the avocado because I am out, I used rice wine vinegar, greatly decreased the cheese (I only added enough to add a bit of color), used minute rice *blushing*, & I added some cilantro & cumin. Maybe the lack of the avocado ruined it for my hubby & grandson but I still thought it was very good. Despite their lack of enthusiasm for the dish, it makes a perfect side for many Mexican dishes so I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I will definitely be making this again and again! I used a mixed grain rice which added a lot of flavor to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Excellent!!! I made this for a side dish for my husband and I and he really raved about it. I will definitely make this again. I am even going to make this for our next bbq. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Riverdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This salad was a hit on a recent camping trip. My friends said "fresh and different, very good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
With a few tweaks, this is 5-stars. I used Texmati rice, increased to 1-cup, with 2 cups water; increased black beans to 1-cup. Made dressing using 1/4 cup oil; 1/4 cup white wine vinegar; jalapeno as called for plus 1/2 tsp cumin and salt to taste. As another reviewer suggested, I made the dressing and poured it over the black beans while I prepared the rice. Flavor was great and this amount of dressing was perfect. I did not use cheese or avocado. Served last night with Chile Verde and flour tortillas and it was great. Today for lunch, I flaked a leftover salmon filet into the salad while it returned to room temp. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I made this with quinoa, and it was delicious! I did make a few modifications, though: I substituted half red-wine and half apple-cider vinegar for white, olive oil for vegetable oil, and a sprinkling of stevia for sugar. I also left out the cheese and added a clove of minced garlic. The creamy texture of the beans and avocado was wonderful and balanced out the tanginess of the vinegar. I topped each serving with green hot sauce for a little extra kick. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I made this last night as a side for my chicken enchiladas. Absolutely fabulous and quick to make! Next time I might add a can of corn to the salad. It would also be great on its own with grilled chicken breast on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States