Santa Fe Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I made this recipe exactly as written....all I could taste was vinegar. I did use apple cider vinegar, maybe milder white vinegar would be less noticeable. I think I'd cut it down to only 2 T., and cut the oil down also. The delicate flavors of the avocado and other ingredients just didn't come through. I think added seasoning like cumin may help. Maybe even using a little mayonnaise instead of oil and vinegar would help it. There are good ingredients in this salad ......I'd like to make it and be able to enjoy all of them without them being masked by the heavy vinegar taste. Another thing......I added about 1 T. of sugar, maybe a bit more as the salad was too sour with just 1/2 t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I made this for my boyfriend and I and we loved it!! I followed it exactly but I added a can of rotel as well.... But it was awesome!!! This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was so good. I used rice wine vinegar and left out the sugar and avocado (mine had gone bad). I also added a dash of cumin. I ate mine with tortilla chips, but the next time I'd use this for a homemade burrito bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Couillard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I cooked the rice in chicken broth and used red wine vinegar. It turned out excellent and very flavorful. Definitely keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I had to make some tweaks to this simply because I didn't have all the right ingredients on hand. I'm sure it would have been even better had I followed it correctly. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I used chickpeas instead of black beans and it was great! You get a different result by using different types of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I served this warm (just mixed the hot rice with the other ingredients) and added lime juice. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Great summer vegetarian salad that I loved and I'm a big steak and potatoes person. I used white wine vinegar, a dab of texas pete and substituted white sugar with brown sugar. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
pretty good. i used brown rice, red onion and added fresh cilantro - left out the cheese, jalapenos, sugar and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States