Santa Fe Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I used leftover cooked rice (about 3 cups). Seasoned that with salt, garlic powder and chili powder. I used a roasted red pepper (from a jar). I also seasoned the chicken a bit before topping with salsa. Added cayenne pepper for some heat. Got rave reviews. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmw2005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Overwhelmed with compliments, sooo delicious. Great mixture of spices and not too spicy for the weak :) Hubby loved it, daughter loved it, and I loved it. My chicken turned out so moist, I double checked it to make sure it was cooked all the way. Yummy. I would suggest this to anyone who is craving a mexican style chicken, which is also low maintence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I left out the beans, substituted sweet onion for the pepper, and used 2 cans of lime clilantro rotel tomatoes instead of salsa. I also seasoned the rice cilantro soup mixture with garlic salt and pepper and seasoned the chicken with garlic salt, chili powder, cayenne and black pepper. It was very good, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Yummy! I also used a little more cheese and salsa then called. For the salsa I used Harry n david pepper n onion relish with zifandel. I am a vegetarian so instead of using cream of chicken soup, I used Cambells condensed fiesta nacho cheese and vegetarian chicken cutlets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
My wife has made this for me as long as I've known her and I've always loved it. One important change (I think) is that she doesn't use instant rice; instead partially cook up a good whole grain rice medley ahead of time and add to recipe. She also does way more salsa....and any cheese you like will do the job nicely, we usually go for the medium cheddar already in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very good. I used already cooked whole grain rice and doubled the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Angier, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was a great recipe. Definitely add the extra cheese and salsa. I used instant whole wheat rice and it worked out fine, so that is also an option if you want to go whole grain but don't want to pre-cook the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
First of all this came out of the oven just looking beautiful! My boyfriend thought I had turned into a professional cook! Also, it tasted delicious; I used a sweet habanero salsa which made for a great flavor. The only thing is the rice was a little bland to me. Maybe throwing some spices onto that before adding the chicken on top would help. Otherwise, it was delicious and lasted a long time for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Served this for company-everyone loved it. Just a couple changes. I used 2 packages of partially cooked Yellow Rice w/seasonings, added a can of diced tomatoes & a diced onion. Because it is my MO, I cooked it in a large crock pot for 8 hours turned to low after one hour. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Awesome! I doubled this recipe for my family. I did not have 2 cans of beans so I used one can of corn and 1 can of beans. I also seasoned the chicken with fajita seasoning and served with warm flour tortillas. A keeper and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States