Santa Fe Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
My wife has made this for me as long as I've known her and I've always loved it. One important change (I think) is that she doesn't use instant rice; instead partially cook up a good whole grain rice medley ahead of time and add to recipe. She also does way more salsa....and any cheese you like will do the job nicely, we usually go for the medium cheddar already in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Served this for company-everyone loved it. Just a couple changes. I used 2 packages of partially cooked Yellow Rice w/seasonings, added a can of diced tomatoes & a diced onion. Because it is my MO, I cooked it in a large crock pot for 8 hours turned to low after one hour. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was so easy and really good. I too added a little more salsa and cheese. I will use this recipe a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNMMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Beach Haven, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I used instant brown rice instead of white and it turned out terrible! The rice on top was cooked, but on the bottom it was still crunchy. This had a great flavor, but if I try brown rice again I will increase the liquid or decrease the amount of rice called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was very good! I gave this recipe a 4 because I made some changes. Instead of using cream of chicken, I used a can of cheddar cheese soup. I also added some chili powder, crushed red pepper, and jalapenos. I did not measure out the salsa, I just used enough to cover each chicken breast. Before serving, I added extra cheese while it was still hot. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
very good, I think next time I will add a cup of frozen corn in addition to (or instead of) the yellow bell pepper and also probably some onion for a tad more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was a great recipe. Definitely add the extra cheese and salsa. I used instant whole wheat rice and it worked out fine, so that is also an option if you want to go whole grain but don't want to pre-cook the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very good. I used already cooked whole grain rice and doubled the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Angier, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I left out the beans, substituted sweet onion for the pepper, and used 2 cans of lime clilantro rotel tomatoes instead of salsa. I also seasoned the rice cilantro soup mixture with garlic salt and pepper and seasoned the chicken with garlic salt, chili powder, cayenne and black pepper. It was very good, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Overwhelmed with compliments, sooo delicious. Great mixture of spices and not too spicy for the weak :) Hubby loved it, daughter loved it, and I loved it. My chicken turned out so moist, I double checked it to make sure it was cooked all the way. Yummy. I would suggest this to anyone who is craving a mexican style chicken, which is also low maintence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States