Sans Rival Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Excellent, rich dessert. The preparation is involved and not for the novice, but well worth all the work. The buttercreme filling is exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
The buttercream filling is way too sweet and 'heavy'. I've tasted Sans Rival where the filling is truly light. There's got to be a trick to get the filling light aside from beating the butter until light and fluffy. I used a heavy duty stand mixer and still ended up with a 'heavy' filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
This is my favorite dessert and I was so happy to find this recipe on this site. Hubby made it for my birthday and it was great. Everyone who tried it, loved it and had seconds. He made one for a potluck at work and it was wiped out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
a wonderful recipe!! i added an extra five to ten minutes to the meringue baking time, and found that a crisper shell made it easier to handle. it also makes for an interesting play of textures-- a crunchy top with a firm and chewy center. magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
I cooked the meringue an extra 5 minutes. I couldn't get filling right for this and gave up & just used a regular butter cream recipe w/ some rum flavoring added. Turned out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
an excellent recipe. it's worth the effort. the buttercream filling is a little bit time consuming but it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
i am having a problem of removing the baked merangue crust from the parchment paper...what should i do with it??? i live in a dry climate and im not sure if it has to do with it. I also used the "grease and flour" method but i really couldnt get the shell out of the pan...i fallowed the instructions carefully...is there any technique ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This recipe is great but i tried adding 1/2 cup all purpose flour in the meringue mixture. After beating the egg whites, fold in the flour and the nuts, this made it easier to handle, plus after the meringue is cooked, try putting a very damp cloth a the back of the meringue for about a minute and i was able to tear the parchment paper easily. I love this recipe will will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeannie O.
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I love sans rivals and this recipe is a keeper. for those who doesn't have cream of tartar you can use (for 4 egg whites)1/2 tbsp vinegar, and 2 tbsp of cornstarch, add it in one tbsp at a time after egg white are already incorporated with sugar and is already stiff and glossy. this procedure helps stablelize the meringue. For the butter cream i just whipped up one brick (around 250g) 100% butter at room temp.(make sure you're not using margarine, cuz it would taste funny) until light and fluffy, added 1/2 cup of powdered sugar, a pinch of salt, 1 tbsp vanilla and 1/4 cup ground cashews then fold in 1/4 cup WHIPPED Cream. i find this twist gives a lighter nuttier butter cream. for those having some trouble with the meringue sticking, try cooking it a bit longer to make sure the bottom of the meringue is dry so you can easily peel away the parchment or aluminum foil (wax paper doesn't work for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davao City, Davao, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This recipe taste great! It can be very hard to make on the first try. There's one thing very important that was left out about the buttercream, and that is, after you mix the egg yolk and sugar mixture on high speed you need to chill it after that. Then when it's chilled you may mix in the butter spoonfulls at a time. If you don't do that the buttercream will come out liquidy. Also another mistake I made on my first try was trying to use wax paper. DO NOT USE WAX PAPER! Parchment paper is great! Thanks for the recipe I will definitely make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States