Sangria! Sangria! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
We had a Sangria taste-off. I used this recipe and my "authentic" friend from Panama used his grandfather's recipe. I won. I use blackberry brandy and the cheapest bottles of wine. I also let it sit in the fridge THEN freeze. Why? I have large parties and never know how much of this to make. So I make six batches and freeze. I put a frozen section into my punch bowl and pour Sierra Mist over the top and it gets slushy. (Alcohol doesn't really freeze solid.). I then add fresh oranges and raspberries. (I have also added fruit at stage one and frozen it. That allows the berries to soak up the alcohol; I prefer fresh berry taste vs. laden with brandy.) Making it ahead allows me to focus on other things the week of the party, knowing my Sangria is done. Everyone asks me for this recipe. I claim it as my own. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's for supper?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goddard, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I have been using this recipe for several years and it's always a hit. I usually double the recipe for parties and we never have leftovers. It's fruity and delicious but not too sweet. I don't use soda or carbonated water, I like it better without. So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I've used this recipe as printed and I've played around with it based on the ingredients I have on-hand and it's always been delicious! I don't usually use the maraschino cherries. I've used peach schnapps and/or triple sec. Brandy is a must. I've added plums, peaches, strawberry, pineapple, etc. I always add some cranberry/raspberry juice (about a 1/2 cup) and I use a can of ginger ale that I add right before serving as suggested. And I don't ever add sugar. You really can't go wrong using the basics of this recipe and tweaking it to make it your own. You will want to double the recipe if you are having company. It goes so fast! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I've made this twice and everyone always loves it! I make it exactly according to the recipe but don't use the optional carbonated water. I usually have to at least quadruple the recipe and found that you can get away with using inexpensive, boxed red wine. I had the same experience as another reviewer - that the men who started out with beer and chose to stick with it when offered the sangria changed their minds after they tasted it and abandoned their beers and drank the sangria for the rest of the evening. Definitely make it the night before for best taste. If you have leftovers after your event I suggest removing the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I'm not one to write reviews, but I've used this recipe over 20 times and since I rely on others' reviews I'll do my part and share my experience. This is the best Sangria recipe I've found. Everyone i make it for raves about it, usually giving me credit. I find that if you let it marinate it's actually best the 2nd day. Also, I don't use the club soda, just my preference I like mine stronger! This is by far better than any Sangria you've ordered in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This is the first time I've ever made sangria but I had to make another batch the very next day to accommodate demand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I used this for my wedding! I made it the night before and used ginger ale. Everyone loved it- but especially the ladies in attendance. I think my sister had +4 drinks! Which is probably why it was gone 30% of the way through. Should have made two pitchers! I am making it again for my housewarming party in a few weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
DELICIOUS! I made this for my husband's 50th Birthday party and it was a hit! I did use 7UP instead of carbonated water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I made this recipe exactly as written with the exception of not adding the cherries, since I didn't have any on hand. It was out of this world! I used blackberry brandy and it was even better than the $14 a glass, blackberry sangria at our favorite restaurant. Thank you for sharing this recipe. It' absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I tried this because of the review that said, "I was a nobody; and now I am famous for my sangria." Now I am famous for my sangria also. I am in Mexico for the winter, so we don't have the limeade concentrate anywhere. Otherwise, I followed the recipe almost exactly. I only put in four tablespoons of sugar and it was better without the sparkling water I added to the top of the glasses on the first round. The first time I made it, I used a Pinot Noir and it was perfect. The second time I made it, I used a Malbec. A little dryer and darker in color. I will stick with the Pinot for this recipe. I did not use cherries, but added a plum, a peach and strawberries to the citrus. I doubled the recipe for 8 people and everyone loved it. I didn't realize there were so many recipes for Sangria. This one was fine and you really can't make a mistake, unless you make it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poppy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,017) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States