Sangria Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Fantastic! As pork producers, we always have a freezer full of pork and I'm always looking for new ways to cook it. This recipe was the best! I did make a couple of minor changes. I cooked a cured ham coated in brown sugar in the oven for the first twenty minutes, then I transferred it to the slow cooker. I used a merlot I had on hand instead of the sangria and added all the liquid to the slowcooker at once, basting the ham every hour or so. When the ham was cooked, I transferred it back to the roaster and strained the remaining liquid into a saucepan. I thickened the liquid on the stovetop with a little cornstarch. This made a lovely burgundy sauce which I used to glaze the ham before I placed it under the broiler for five minutes to make the top shiny and just a little crisp. I served the remaining sauce with the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This was FABULOUS! The best ham we have ever had and while it is cooking it makes the house smell heavenly! Hubby kept asking when it was going to be done! 5*++++++.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This is delicious!! I've made all kinds of glazes and sauces for ham for 30 years + and this is the best. My search is over. I used a honey baked spiral sliced ham. I put the ham (without cloves), juice and sangria in the crockpot then packed the brown sugar on the ham. Then I went out to the pool. I turned the ham over and basted a couple of times. It was cooked in 4 hours but the longer the better. So easy and tasty! Serve with Pineapple Stuffing and Stewed Tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
this was my first attempt at a bone in ham, and this recipe made it so easy. We had no Sangria, so I substituted with orange and apple (1 cup each)juice. It turned out great and it smelled so good while it was cooking. I will definately be keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
This was excellent! I couldn't find a ham that wasn't pre-cooked, so I used a spiral sliced ham and adjusted the baking time and temperature per the instructions that came with the ham. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Received many raves and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Delicious, but did anyone notice that it's 1105 calories per serving and the fat grams are out of this world???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
I didn't use a whole ham, and I will try a pre-cut spiral ham next time. Everyone loved the ham, it was a big hit, also our first ham we've ever cooked.! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Boman Wood

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
This was the first Easter that I needed to cook a ham. Usually my husband's mother does the ham. I was looking for something a little different. I found this recipe and it sounded good. I made it and it was delicious! Someone told me that it was the best ham they had ever had! It's not difficult to make and the results are fantastic! Thank you Mary Glenn and BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I added 5 tbsp of honey to the brown sugar and created a thick paste which i smeared over the top of the ham. This helped to get more of the flavor into the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
We used our slow cooker to create this delicious dish! While the slow cooker is simple and easy, you dont get that sweet crunchy outside coating of glaze. However we took the leftover liquid and boiled it down, added some cornstarch and served as sauce. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States