Sangria Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Great flavor! Additionally, I placed sliced pineapples on the ham and allowed them to cook through the entire time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This was interesting to cook. It gets very black & carmelizes. Lots of smoke started coming out of my oven so I pulled it out about an hour early. I highly recomend tenting it with foil. It did taste good and was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I have boiled and baked alot hams (we love ham) and this will be the all time favorite. I gave it 5 stars even though it was kinda black looking, it didn't affect the taste, and just figured it was something I did, will adjust something next time, to try to make it look a little less burnt, but, if it is blackened, oh well, I know it will still taste great. Thanks for sharing. I am updating my review one year later, I made this again this Easter, I have come to the conclusion that, you cannot make this (with or without tenting with foil) without it turning quite black, but, guess what? I don't care, it is delicious, I've never had so few leftovers, and only had 5 for dinner!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SASSYSAUTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
jessica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
It was snowing so I couldn't go out to get the pineapple juice and sangria as called for - so I used apple juice (my kids!) and white wine I had in the fridge instead. It was delish. I cooked it in the slow cooker on medium for about 3 hours - yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Yum! This a great ham and directions are right on. All those cloves are a pain, though. But, the taste is sooo worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Fantastic! As pork producers, we always have a freezer full of pork and I'm always looking for new ways to cook it. This recipe was the best! I did make a couple of minor changes. I cooked a cured ham coated in brown sugar in the oven for the first twenty minutes, then I transferred it to the slow cooker. I used a merlot I had on hand instead of the sangria and added all the liquid to the slowcooker at once, basting the ham every hour or so. When the ham was cooked, I transferred it back to the roaster and strained the remaining liquid into a saucepan. I thickened the liquid on the stovetop with a little cornstarch. This made a lovely burgundy sauce which I used to glaze the ham before I placed it under the broiler for five minutes to make the top shiny and just a little crisp. I served the remaining sauce with the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I made this w/ a 15 lb partially cooked ham. Since I had a larger ham I had to cook it for 5 hours and the top ended up pretty much black. Next time I would wait to add the brown sugar until the last hour. I would glaze w/ the wine mixture but the sugar will burn if your ham takes over 2 or 3 hours. My guests said it was picture perfect but I think they were just being nice. It looked burned. Once you cut into it, it was perfectly cooked and tasted pretty good. I will try other recipes before I try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I have made this recipe a couple of times, and my family and friends have loved it. I do make a few modifications though. I do not like cloves, so I do not use them. Also, I cook it all day in the crockpot so that we have a wonderful meal with little fuss when we get home. I have tried a couple of different red wines and they have all turned out wonderfully! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
First off, this was the first ham I have ever cooked and I thought it was the most delicious ham I have ever tasted! Not to mention the fact that everyone at the table Christmas day cheered and applauded! I will definately be cooking it again, probably sooner than expected since my fiance who didn't like ham before I made this one is ready for me to cook another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States