Sangria Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I make this ham every year for Thanksgiving and have done so for about 6 years now. It is a HUGE hit in this house and every person I have given the recipe to says they will never go back to your basic ham. The meat is so tender and so sweet...it literally melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Excellent - moist - easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Luverne, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
What a waste of a ham. I used an 18 lb fresh ham for Christmas dinner & almost burned my house down. The oven was a huge mess & all the ham tasted like was cloves. I would suggest a pre-cooked ham and omit the cloves. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
What an awesome meal - definitely one that will be repeated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This is delicious!! I've made all kinds of glazes and sauces for ham for 30 years + and this is the best. My search is over. I used a honey baked spiral sliced ham. I put the ham (without cloves), juice and sangria in the crockpot then packed the brown sugar on the ham. Then I went out to the pool. I turned the ham over and basted a couple of times. It was cooked in 4 hours but the longer the better. So easy and tasty! Serve with Pineapple Stuffing and Stewed Tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I made this for a family dinner, and nobody ate it after sneaking a first taste off of the platter. I did as others and placed it in the crock pot to simmer. It turned brown, and once out of the pot it began to dry out quickly. By dinner time, it looked like beef jerky and it tasted like a clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Great flavor! Additionally, I placed sliced pineapples on the ham and allowed them to cook through the entire time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This was interesting to cook. It gets very black & carmelizes. Lots of smoke started coming out of my oven so I pulled it out about an hour early. I highly recomend tenting it with foil. It did taste good and was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I have boiled and baked alot hams (we love ham) and this will be the all time favorite. I gave it 5 stars even though it was kinda black looking, it didn't affect the taste, and just figured it was something I did, will adjust something next time, to try to make it look a little less burnt, but, if it is blackened, oh well, I know it will still taste great. Thanks for sharing. I am updating my review one year later, I made this again this Easter, I have come to the conclusion that, you cannot make this (with or without tenting with foil) without it turning quite black, but, guess what? I don't care, it is delicious, I've never had so few leftovers, and only had 5 for dinner!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SASSYSAUTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
jessica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States