Sangria Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This was interesting to cook. It gets very black & carmelizes. Lots of smoke started coming out of my oven so I pulled it out about an hour early. I highly recomend tenting it with foil. It did taste good and was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I have boiled and baked alot hams (we love ham) and this will be the all time favorite. I gave it 5 stars even though it was kinda black looking, it didn't affect the taste, and just figured it was something I did, will adjust something next time, to try to make it look a little less burnt, but, if it is blackened, oh well, I know it will still taste great. Thanks for sharing. I am updating my review one year later, I made this again this Easter, I have come to the conclusion that, you cannot make this (with or without tenting with foil) without it turning quite black, but, guess what? I don't care, it is delicious, I've never had so few leftovers, and only had 5 for dinner!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SASSYSAUTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
jessica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
It was snowing so I couldn't go out to get the pineapple juice and sangria as called for - so I used apple juice (my kids!) and white wine I had in the fridge instead. It was delish. I cooked it in the slow cooker on medium for about 3 hours - yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Yum! This a great ham and directions are right on. All those cloves are a pain, though. But, the taste is sooo worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Fantastic! As pork producers, we always have a freezer full of pork and I'm always looking for new ways to cook it. This recipe was the best! I did make a couple of minor changes. I cooked a cured ham coated in brown sugar in the oven for the first twenty minutes, then I transferred it to the slow cooker. I used a merlot I had on hand instead of the sangria and added all the liquid to the slowcooker at once, basting the ham every hour or so. When the ham was cooked, I transferred it back to the roaster and strained the remaining liquid into a saucepan. I thickened the liquid on the stovetop with a little cornstarch. This made a lovely burgundy sauce which I used to glaze the ham before I placed it under the broiler for five minutes to make the top shiny and just a little crisp. I served the remaining sauce with the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I made this w/ a 15 lb partially cooked ham. Since I had a larger ham I had to cook it for 5 hours and the top ended up pretty much black. Next time I would wait to add the brown sugar until the last hour. I would glaze w/ the wine mixture but the sugar will burn if your ham takes over 2 or 3 hours. My guests said it was picture perfect but I think they were just being nice. It looked burned. Once you cut into it, it was perfectly cooked and tasted pretty good. I will try other recipes before I try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I have made this recipe a couple of times, and my family and friends have loved it. I do make a few modifications though. I do not like cloves, so I do not use them. Also, I cook it all day in the crockpot so that we have a wonderful meal with little fuss when we get home. I have tried a couple of different red wines and they have all turned out wonderfully! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
First off, this was the first ham I have ever cooked and I thought it was the most delicious ham I have ever tasted! Not to mention the fact that everyone at the table Christmas day cheered and applauded! I will definately be cooking it again, probably sooner than expected since my fiance who didn't like ham before I made this one is ready for me to cook another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
so good and moist the best I have ever had. Everyone at Christmas dinner agreed this is definitly a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States