Sangria Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
jessica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
It was snowing so I couldn't go out to get the pineapple juice and sangria as called for - so I used apple juice (my kids!) and white wine I had in the fridge instead. It was delish. I cooked it in the slow cooker on medium for about 3 hours - yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Yum! This a great ham and directions are right on. All those cloves are a pain, though. But, the taste is sooo worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Fantastic! As pork producers, we always have a freezer full of pork and I'm always looking for new ways to cook it. This recipe was the best! I did make a couple of minor changes. I cooked a cured ham coated in brown sugar in the oven for the first twenty minutes, then I transferred it to the slow cooker. I used a merlot I had on hand instead of the sangria and added all the liquid to the slowcooker at once, basting the ham every hour or so. When the ham was cooked, I transferred it back to the roaster and strained the remaining liquid into a saucepan. I thickened the liquid on the stovetop with a little cornstarch. This made a lovely burgundy sauce which I used to glaze the ham before I placed it under the broiler for five minutes to make the top shiny and just a little crisp. I served the remaining sauce with the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I made this w/ a 15 lb partially cooked ham. Since I had a larger ham I had to cook it for 5 hours and the top ended up pretty much black. Next time I would wait to add the brown sugar until the last hour. I would glaze w/ the wine mixture but the sugar will burn if your ham takes over 2 or 3 hours. My guests said it was picture perfect but I think they were just being nice. It looked burned. Once you cut into it, it was perfectly cooked and tasted pretty good. I will try other recipes before I try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I have made this recipe a couple of times, and my family and friends have loved it. I do make a few modifications though. I do not like cloves, so I do not use them. Also, I cook it all day in the crockpot so that we have a wonderful meal with little fuss when we get home. I have tried a couple of different red wines and they have all turned out wonderfully! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
First off, this was the first ham I have ever cooked and I thought it was the most delicious ham I have ever tasted! Not to mention the fact that everyone at the table Christmas day cheered and applauded! I will definately be cooking it again, probably sooner than expected since my fiance who didn't like ham before I made this one is ready for me to cook another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
so good and moist the best I have ever had. Everyone at Christmas dinner agreed this is definitly a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Fantastic! I used Red Rose wine, and a fully cooked ham. The Ham basted in the sugar and juices until it was fully heated and it was delicious. Everyone raved about this ham. Thank you. It was a delicous part of our Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I loved how this came out, not a traditional clove studded ham to be sure. I only made one slight difference, I turned the turkey down to 325 after the first hour was over. It still was done a little earlier. The sauce thickens as it stands, so I skimmed the fat and saved it to serve over the leftovers. YUUUMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States