Sangria Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Super YUM!! I omit the cloves, noone in our family likes them. Sometimes add orange marmalade instead of pineapple juice. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I made this today for Pascha (Easter). I used a 6 1/2 lb. ready-to-cook smoked half ham, shank end, and Boone's Farm Sangria. I changed the recipe slightly: I only used about a half pound of brown sugar, which covered the ham just fine. Also, I put the lid on the roasting pan after I added the first cup of wine & juice. After the next 20 minutes, I basted with all the rest of the liquid and re-covered the pan. I lowered the temperature to 325 at the end of the first hour, and continued basting each 20 minutes for a second hour, which brought it up to an internal temperature of 170, so it didn't need to cook longer. This ham was very moist and flavorful, with a smoky sweetness. I generally prefer a honey-baked ham, but this was almost as good. I also enjoyed how simple it was for such a good result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Millbrook, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
INCREDIBLE!! I made it for Christmas last year and at the last min I couldnt even go, so I sent the ham with my sister and my family called me as soon as they started eating to tell me how great it was!!! I didn't even get to taste it! I am making it again for Easter and my family can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Made this many times it is incredible, I use to make a ham similar to this when I first moved on my own when I started having holiday partys..Im glad I found this this is SUPERB i HAVE IT FOR CHRISTMAS , EASTER AND ALSO when i feel hammy..yes hammy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
This is by far my favorite ham recipe! I have tried others, but none compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naomi1025
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I made this ham for Christmas and it was a huge hit!! The only thing I did differently is I put some pineapple in my food processor and poured it over the ham and I reduced the liquid afterwards for a great optional glaze at the table. I will be making this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I followed this recipe EXACTLY for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a HIT. You really can't go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I made this for Christmas with a 10lb fully cooked ham. I left out the cloves because my husband doesn't care for them and used Burgandy Merlot since I couldn't find Sangria wine. I lowered the temp after the first hour to 325 and cooked for a total of 3.5 hours. It came out TERRIFIC!! Very Moist and much better than a Honey Baked Ham. This will be my ham recipie from now on! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I've found that this recipe is even better if you substitute 1 cup of mild molasses & 1 cup of granulated sugar for every 1 cup of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I was looking for a "new" recipe to try and this one was WONDERFUL! Everyone at Thanksgiving dinner raved about how good it tasted! I am so pleased that I found this recipe and I will definitely use it again. YUM YUM YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States