Sangria Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I've made this several times and each time received many compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This is simply an excellent way to prepare ham and it is the only way I will do it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Spectacular! I did need to tent it lightly. Used a bottle of TJ 3 buck chuck instead of sangria, with the pineapple juice, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Wow! I made this for my family's Christmas Dinner and it was amazingly good. Great rich flavor without being too sweet and the glaze really balanced the saltiness of the ham just right. I used Chianti for the wine and recommend it. Chianti is the tradition wine for Sangria and has a very fruity flavor itself. I used the pineapple juice and added some grated ginger and orange zest (although I'm not sure the addition of the ginger and zest changed the outcome much.) I did the 400 degrees for 20 minutes, then turned down the oven to 325 for another two hours. I brought the ham interior temp to 140 degrees per the cooking instructions on the ham and it was perfect (it was a fully cooked Martha Stewart bone-in ham from Costco. Almost half the price of the one at the grocery store and I loved it. I would recommend this ham, nothing tasted bargain about it.) I did tent it for the last 45 minutes. When it came out of the oven it looked right out of a magazine, I was very proud to serve this ham to my family. Also, as other reviewers I took the juices from the roasting pan and reduced and served as a sauce. Only thing I would have done different is to skim the reduction before serving. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I did not make it home from the store with my jar of whole cloves, so I just sprinkled a little ground cloves over the brown sugar. I used equal amounts of soft rose red wine and pineapple juice then I topped the ham with pineapple and cherries. My ham was a 4.5 pound cooked ham, so I halved the recipe and reduced the cooking time. Everyone loved this. I plan to use this recipe for the Holidays. Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
The best ham I have ever cooked and I been cookin em for 30 years. I will for ever use this recipe. I use an injector like for a deep fried turkey. I make a double recipe and I inject half or so and let it sit over night in a clean trash bag in the fridge and then the next day start the roasting process and then start the basting. Rave reviews from family,friends,functions! You are a genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint James, Missouri, USA
Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Everyone in my extended family loved this! It was my first time cooking a ham,and it was equally simple and delicious. I followed other reviewers and baked it in the oven for 20-30 minutes with the brown sugar packed on. Then I put it in my crockpot on low for 6 hours. I used an 8 lb pre-cooked spiral ham and I had doubled the juice and wine, as I like a lot of sauce. It turns out that even though the liquid covered 80% of the ham, it was moist, but seemed a bit overcooked. I will definitely do this again, but if you are going to use a precooked ham I STRONGLY suggest that you cook it for less time so it doesn't dry out. Also, I used a cornstarch slurry to thicken up the juice into sauce and it was raved over. THANKS for the only ham recipe I'll ever need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Made this for Easter dinner for 28 people, and it was a huge hit. The ham turned out great. I used a 10 lbs pre-cooked honey spiral sliced ham and started off at 350 degrees to melt the sugar and then lowered the temp down to 325 for the remaining 2 hours. Thickened the drippings afterwards for a delicious glaze. Will definately make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraann6

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This really gave it good flavor. I didn't tent it with foil- it makes it easier to baste it. Thanks for the recipe I could see how this could easily be changed with other flavors. I really enjoyed the pineapple juice flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this for Easter dinner and it was a hit! My mother even took a copy of the recipe so she can start baking ham this way. I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased with the results. Not too sweet, but very moist with good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States