Sangria Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Made this for the first christmas dinner with my family and his family and it was a big hit! Everyone loved it, made it in the crock pot and made sure to baste it every 30 minutes. Came out moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
So moist and juicy when it comes out of the oven! We used about twice the liquid called for, as our first attempt left us with a burned ham. :( Our roasting pan is rather large, so we increased the liquid on our second attempt and the result was amazing - even my picky 5 year old ate every last bite and is looking forward to leftovers! Thanks for the great recipe, this is our new favorite way to cook ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is not the most delcious ham I have ever made. It was good but not worth the effort. I had to take it off heat 3 hours into the cooking process because it was black and smoking - even after tenting it. Once I removed the charred outer layer the ham was ok. Not moist but not really dry either. The cleanup is difficult - it will be days before I can get all the baked on sugar cleaned from my roaster. I will not be making this ham again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Simply amazing ham! To make it healthier, I replace the unsweetened pineapple juice with pineapple chunks pureed in a blender until it liquifies. This eliminates a lot of sugar and preservatives from the canned juice. I also cut down on the amount of brown sugar and replace some of it with apple sauce which has natural sweetening ability. I make my own sangria; that way I can control the ingredients in the sangria by adding or taking out anything I want. I also added some minced Vidalia onion to the brown sugar and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was my first ever attempt at making a ham and my family LOVED this!! I didn't have sangria, so I just used a red wine we had left over from the night before. Turned out fabulously, just as written. My only note: My ham instructions said to cook at 325 and I'm glad I did. 400 would have certainly dried it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Great on the 1st day, even better for leftovers. It remained soooo juicy and flavorful for next day, I think more ppl have 2nd and 3rd that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Amazing I make this EVERY YEAR either for Christmas OR Easter, fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinazielen

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
We smoked a 13 pound ham using this basting. I didn't use as much brown sugar as the recipe calls for, I really wonder how you are supposed to get a whole pound of sugar to stick to a ham, I just pressed on the best I could. I added the juice of a fresh orange to the Sangria and pineapple. This was a very nice change from the super sweet coating of the normal honey glaze. The ham was moist and juicy. We had lots of wine left and didn't need the full 2 cups for smoking a ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I made this and thought it was wonderful, but I turned the heat down to 325 degrees after the first 2 hours, and then down to 250 for the last hour and the temperature was right on. I kept the lid on the roaster after the first 20 minutes, and I used cab/shiraz wine. I also allowed it to rest for 1/2 hour before we ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Balfour_Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
i made this recipe for the first time and now it is my most requested dish/ it was so simple and easy to make. the ham was juicy and flavorful. it required alot of attention and basting but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States