Sangria Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is not the most delcious ham I have ever made. It was good but not worth the effort. I had to take it off heat 3 hours into the cooking process because it was black and smoking - even after tenting it. Once I removed the charred outer layer the ham was ok. Not moist but not really dry either. The cleanup is difficult - it will be days before I can get all the baked on sugar cleaned from my roaster. I will not be making this ham again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Simply amazing ham! To make it healthier, I replace the unsweetened pineapple juice with pineapple chunks pureed in a blender until it liquifies. This eliminates a lot of sugar and preservatives from the canned juice. I also cut down on the amount of brown sugar and replace some of it with apple sauce which has natural sweetening ability. I make my own sangria; that way I can control the ingredients in the sangria by adding or taking out anything I want. I also added some minced Vidalia onion to the brown sugar and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was my first ever attempt at making a ham and my family LOVED this!! I didn't have sangria, so I just used a red wine we had left over from the night before. Turned out fabulously, just as written. My only note: My ham instructions said to cook at 325 and I'm glad I did. 400 would have certainly dried it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Great on the 1st day, even better for leftovers. It remained soooo juicy and flavorful for next day, I think more ppl have 2nd and 3rd that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Amazing I make this EVERY YEAR either for Christmas OR Easter, fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinazielen

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
We smoked a 13 pound ham using this basting. I didn't use as much brown sugar as the recipe calls for, I really wonder how you are supposed to get a whole pound of sugar to stick to a ham, I just pressed on the best I could. I added the juice of a fresh orange to the Sangria and pineapple. This was a very nice change from the super sweet coating of the normal honey glaze. The ham was moist and juicy. We had lots of wine left and didn't need the full 2 cups for smoking a ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I made this and thought it was wonderful, but I turned the heat down to 325 degrees after the first 2 hours, and then down to 250 for the last hour and the temperature was right on. I kept the lid on the roaster after the first 20 minutes, and I used cab/shiraz wine. I also allowed it to rest for 1/2 hour before we ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Balfour_Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
i made this recipe for the first time and now it is my most requested dish/ it was so simple and easy to make. the ham was juicy and flavorful. it required alot of attention and basting but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
My favorite ham recipe BY FAR. I usually prefer ham at holiday feasts (over turkey or prime rib) and this one was especially delicious. I can't wait to make it again. To the reviewer who didn't like the amount of calories and fat - you're right, it's not healthy. But it's a delicious way to splurge on a holiday meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erykakay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
So amazing and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States