Sandy's Summer Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This beats store-bought summer sausages hands down. I highly recommend using extra lean ground chunk (great flavor) to avoid all the grease and fat. I cracked the mustard seeds before adding them, but otherwise didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This recipe is awesome and the flavor is incredible, Way better than any Hickory Farms summer sausage. A family favorite during the holidays. Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Outstanding! I had high hopes after reading the reviews and it didnt let me down a inch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I love this recipe. I have made it 15+ times. First time I made it exactly as written. Five stars as written. My family likes there sausage slightly hot so next time I added jalapenos chopped. I have also added chunks of cheese. Very good recipe without the hassle of a smoke house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe I keep it made and in the freezer all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This recipe is absolutely AWESOME!! My husband is a hunter and unfortunately I'm not fond of anything that has a hint of "gamey" flavor. I'm always looking for a new way to disguise deer meat but I've found that with many recipes I still can't "fool" myself. Not so with this one! The only substitution I made was deer meat for the ground. It came out perfect and I agree with other reviews, it has WAY more flavor than the store bought. This will go in my permanent recipe collection. Definitely a keeper! We can't wait to see what happens when we add jalapenos and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I Like this recipe very much. I plan on trying some of the others for there flavor but they will be cooked per this instructions. The only thing I plan on changing is amount of mustard seeds it was way to much for my liking. instead of 2 tablespoons I will be putting in 2 teaspoons other then that this is a keeper. Will me making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Easy to make, but a little bland for our tastes. Next time (probably this weekend), I'll pump up the spices a bit, add some smoked habanero and maybe some cheese, and finish them in the smoker at 200 for a few hours instead of the oven. Thanks to ND24 for the advice! *After making this several times, what works for us is: 1. Let the mixture cure for 3 days instead of one. Mix it each morning. It makes the texture even better. 2. I added two chopped smoked habanero peppers and a quarter cup of sharp shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chip Eckert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madeira, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This summer sausage is great!!! I think next time I'll make a double batch...it went way too fast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chowchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This is sooooo Goood! Thanks Sandy! It didn't last long in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States