Sandy's Summer Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Just a confirmation of what everybody knows....this is great! It's as easy to make 5 lbs as it is to make the 2 lb recipe here. Just use the converter here on allrecipies. I buy one of those 5 lb chub rolls of ground beef, and when I'm done, keep a couple for eating right away, then freeze what's left for later. It really freezes well. I sometimes use 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper instead of the 1 tsp black pepper. I also let my mix sit for 48-72 hrs before cooking, remixing every 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Made with 99% fat free turkey. Yes, it was a bit dry, but the fact that I knew what went into it made me over look the dryness. I added 1tsp red pepper flakes and made the rest according to the recipe. It is really flavorful! I sliced it thin and I added saurkraut to get the moisture back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This is the best sausage iv had but I added a few ghost peppers I love spicy food I will do this recipe again and again I also added peppercorns and crushed red pepper flakes thanks sandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I love summer sausage, but not a lot of places carry it. I saw this recipe and knew I had to try it. Delish! The hardest part is waiting to cook it, then waiting again to eat it! It smells so good while it's cooking. I used very lean ground beef (96/4) which made the sausage a little more dry, but it was still very enjoyable. The only suggestion I have is to use less mustard seed. I served this on a meat, cheese and cracker tray and totally impressed my guests with my homemade sausage. I'll definitely make this again. Next time I might play with the recipe a bit and add jalapeño/cheddar as others have suggested, or add crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My husband and I LOVED this sausage! I made a couple of changes and it turned out great! First, I used venison, added 1/2 teas. onion powder and since my husband cannot have nuts or seeds, I left out the mustard seeds. I personally do not like summer sausage, BUT this is absolutely DELICIOUS!!! We will make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Honestly, I was so excited to make this. I followed the recipe to a T, and was so disappointed with the outcome. Personally, I don't think it tastes nearly as good as store bought. It was definitely missing something. Maybe regular salt as well?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
this is for rev chip, add high temp cheddar & jalapenas & its an excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Easy to make, but a little bland for our tastes. Next time (probably this weekend), I'll pump up the spices a bit, add some smoked habanero and maybe some cheese, and finish them in the smoker at 200 for a few hours instead of the oven. Thanks to ND24 for the advice! *After making this several times, what works for us is: 1. Let the mixture cure for 3 days instead of one. Mix it each morning. It makes the texture even better. 2. I added two chopped smoked habanero peppers and a quarter cup of sharp shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madeira, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I Like this recipe very much. I plan on trying some of the others for there flavor but they will be cooked per this instructions. The only thing I plan on changing is amount of mustard seeds it was way to much for my liking. instead of 2 tablespoons I will be putting in 2 teaspoons other then that this is a keeper. Will me making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
THis has an interesting flavor, but it tastes more like a hamburger with flavors added. It also does not look very good when it comes out of the foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States