Sandy's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I just wanted to update my previous review, because I have notice that some reviews say that it is not chocolatey enough for them - I have made this cake at least 20 times since November and everyone says how rich and chocolatey it is. It is moist and easy to prepare. Some reviews also have had problems with the cakes sticking - I have been using Wilton's Cake Release and it works awesome there is not even a crumb lost. Just thought I would put another two cents in. Don't be afraid to try this recipe everyone who has tried my 20+ cakes has asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Sublime. The best chocolate cake I have ever made. I scale the recipe down (9 serves) and this makes 2x9 in round layers, or enough for 26-28 cupcakes. Follow the instructions and don't muck around with the ingredients. This cake is best the way it is. I thought stirring in the cup of boiling water would ruin the batter, but it did not (although the batter is fairly thin after the water goes in). The taste and texture of this cake is as good as the other reviews claim. For cupcakes, bake around 15-20 minutes, but definitely test using a toothpick. I didn't use the frosting recipe, but used my own buttercream, and it was great. But if your frosting is too stiff, you might have a problem with the cake crumbling/tearing while you frost it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This cake is sublime in every way! The three layers bake up beautifully and the recipe for the frosting makes more than enough to frost all three and sides! The addition of the sour cream adds a very subtle tang to the chocolate and it's beyond belief. My husband felt priviledged just to lick the beaters! What a cake, what a presentation! Thank you for sharing this wonderful creation and I enjoyed reading Sandy's story! PS Make sure you grease generously your cake pans. I think next time I'll use Pam which might work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
If you're looking for a cake that holds together well, is moist, plenty chocolaty and ices easily for great presentation, then this is the cake for you! I made this exactly as directed for my husbands 55th Birthday and it was definately gorgeous to look at and well received over all. The temperature and cooking time were perfect and when serving guests I would NOT change a thing, however, we found the texture was a smidge too dense for our personal liking and I will be eliminating an egg next time around. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Lisa D
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I have to start out by saying I'm reviewing the CAKE not the frosting. I have not tried Sandy's frosting. However, this cake has quickly become the staple chocolate cake for my family! I've been asked to make it for family gatherings because everyone loves it! It's super chocolaty, moist, dense yet not too dense. It's the perfect combination in a cake! It layers very well without falling apart. I followed directions exactly and had NO problems!The only adjustment I made was cook time. I take it out 5 mins earlier than recommended (due to my old oven!) If you have not found the perfect chocolate cake, PLEASE give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
***five stars all around. Great cake and the icing is fabulous. I make alot of different types of chocolate cakes and icings and this is top. Rich and decadent. The only subs were for the sour cream portions in the cake and icing..i do half sour cream and half heavy cream. Richer taste..just what I like. My cake pans actually overflowed in the oven so don't fill your pans up too high. The cake rises quite a bit. Wil make again and again. Chocolate cake tastes better with age so let it sit for a day for a true flavor. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Thank-you Sandy for your fabulously delicious chocolate cake recipe! I served this velvety creation from heaven at a dinner party and received many compliments. Those who initially refused dessert gave in to temptation after hearing the exclamations of the first samplers. The feasters at this Eastern Canada dinner were also delighted to hear about you and your cake's history. I used Pam and flour on the cake pans and those rich, moist cakes came out beautifully when done. At 35 minutes, the cakes were still liquidy and I ended up baking them for another 20 minutes. At this point, they were perfect. This is a recipe to hand down the generations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
My family RAVED over this! I think I'm going to make it at Christmas and use raspberry jam as filling between the layers and put raspberries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrypumpkin10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
For someone who has NEVER made anything from scratch, this cake was so easy. It came out delicious. I was nervous when I saw how thin the batter was, but it worked. I followed the baking and cooling times exactly. I recommend using only butter for the frosting because I used margarine one time and it came out really runny. I definitly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I will make this every chance I can! It was moist and light and rich at the same time; the cake is so good you could probably serve it with just a dusting of confectioners sugar--but the frosting is wonderful. It was a fairly easy recipe with impressive results. I used parchment paper to line the pans, and it came out beautifully. Thank you Sandy for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States