Sandy's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This cake is sublime in every way! The three layers bake up beautifully and the recipe for the frosting makes more than enough to frost all three and sides! The addition of the sour cream adds a very subtle tang to the chocolate and it's beyond belief. My husband felt priviledged just to lick the beaters! What a cake, what a presentation! Thank you for sharing this wonderful creation and I enjoyed reading Sandy's story! PS Make sure you grease generously your cake pans. I think next time I'll use Pam which might work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Thank-you Sandy for your fabulously delicious chocolate cake recipe! I served this velvety creation from heaven at a dinner party and received many compliments. Those who initially refused dessert gave in to temptation after hearing the exclamations of the first samplers. The feasters at this Eastern Canada dinner were also delighted to hear about you and your cake's history. I used Pam and flour on the cake pans and those rich, moist cakes came out beautifully when done. At 35 minutes, the cakes were still liquidy and I ended up baking them for another 20 minutes. At this point, they were perfect. This is a recipe to hand down the generations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
WOW...I can say this cake is fantastic. Easy to make, all around awesome. I have been a long time subscriber to Cooks Illustrated and tried their "Best Chocolate Cake " recipe last year. Not only did this cake recipe beat the Cook's recipe, it didnt use every pan in my kitchen and took half the time to make. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I made this cake for my husbands 42nd birthday, it came out delicious! i will make this one again for sure, this is a keeper. The cake was rich and the frosting was creamy and chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Very moist and delicious. I used a dark chocolate cocoa powder which contrasted very well with the sweet chocolatey frosting. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katie5555
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This cake is delicious!! I only made the actual cake (not the frosting) and the taste is wonderful. Will definitely try the frosting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I will make this every chance I can! It was moist and light and rich at the same time; the cake is so good you could probably serve it with just a dusting of confectioners sugar--but the frosting is wonderful. It was a fairly easy recipe with impressive results. I used parchment paper to line the pans, and it came out beautifully. Thank you Sandy for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This was just ok for me.....wasn't as chocolatey as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Amazing!!! Probably the best chocolate cake I've ever had- I've never had a perfect cake but this might be it! It's extremely easy to make and comes out moist and very rich! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I just wanted to update my previous review, because I have notice that some reviews say that it is not chocolatey enough for them - I have made this cake at least 20 times since November and everyone says how rich and chocolatey it is. It is moist and easy to prepare. Some reviews also have had problems with the cakes sticking - I have been using Wilton's Cake Release and it works awesome there is not even a crumb lost. Just thought I would put another two cents in. Don't be afraid to try this recipe everyone who has tried my 20+ cakes has asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States