Sandy's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Very good. Needed the icing though. The cake is dense and flavorful but not as chocolatey as I had hoped for on its own. With the icing it was a perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This cake was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. The cake was moist and just right in texture. This is not a light and fluffy cake, but it isn't too heavy either. Just right! I did not make the frosting this time. I think it sounds wonderful though! I decided to add a salted caramel frosting and then drizzled the remaining caramel and melted chocolate over the finished cake. It was beautiful and so yummy. This is definitely my new favorite chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I resized this for 9 servings to fit my two 9 inch rounds. They dropped beautifully out of the pans and were so level, I didn't need to shave any off at all for layering them. I made this cake with Cream Cheese Frosting ll from allrecipes instead of the chocolate frosting. SO yummy! This will be my standby chocolate cake recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made this cake into cupcakes for my friends birthday and they were a hit! I forgot to put into the boiling water into the mix but it didn't ruin the cupcakes. I used my own icing recipe. And I'm already getting demands for more cake. I baked the cupcakes for about 20 mins instead of 35 mins and it baked perfectly. I'll for sure be using this cake recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue.kbb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
The best recipe for made from scratch chocolate cake I've ever tried. It's the first one I've found that actually comes out better than a boxed one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knddavis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Fantastic...added half a teaspoon of almond extract to cake mix. RAVE reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I made this cake with a different frosting. The cake is not dense; it is light like cake mix cakes. It has good flavor and baked nicely. I was worried when I added the water but eventually it mixed in. Thanks for sharing Sandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Unbelievably moist...easy to make, and was a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made mini cupcakes that tasted really great. These are covered in ganache and whipped chocolate frosting. They are tiny! That is a candy holder cupcake paper. The Candy Lips are for Valentines day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I was asked to make a chocolate cake for a house warming party and to my chagrin I was out of chocolate cake mix. In searching for recipes from scratch I tumbled across this one and I'm so glad I did! I had to double the recipe and didn't want to open another bag of brown sugar for two cups but I had about 2 cups of applesauce left in a jar so I dumped it in. I also only had about half of the sour cream I needed but I dumped that in and it still turned out fantastic despite the changes I made! I will have to try it again when I have everything I need because the things I skimped on could only make it better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Francis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States