Sandy's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Big Hit with the family. Keep in mind this is not a light fluffy cake - this is a rich, rather dense cake with a marvelous crumb and moist texture. It was so nice to find a recipe that doesn't rely on coffee to give it the deep chocolate flavor imparted by the cocoa. (Ya THINK?) I did make frosting but served it separately because this cake really doesn't need it! This is our "go to" chocolate cake recipe with no modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and got a really dense sponge. It just tasted like eating a chocolate flavored kitchen sponge. I made the frosting and it looked a little too runny but i frosted the cake anyway and it ended up hardening like sugar cookie frosting. I don't know if that's what it was supposed to be like? My kids love chocolate anything, but after one bite they wouldn't eat anymore! The only redeeming quality was that the flavor of the cake itself was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIEQ203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Simple triple layered chocolate cake... what more do you want? In terms of the cake sticking to the pan, I used parchment paper, oil, and flour, and I had no issues getting it out of the pan after the allotted cool off time. For the frosting, some reviewers stated it was too sweet, the easiest way to tailor the frosting to your liking is to adjust how much powdered sugar you add. I only added four cups instead of the five, and everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
delicious! Very chocolatey and i'll never buy a store bought chocolate cake again! I doubled the recipe and It made 1- 10" 1- 9" 1- 8" and 2- 6" layers for the cake. Other than that I followed the recipe to the letter and it's a wonderful recipe! Ty for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sxctpalmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Eielson Afb, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Perfect exactly as it is. Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing Sandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Puss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Falls, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I made this cake and loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I reviewed this a long time ago but I thought I'd update, since then I've made it probably a dozen times. This is easily the best cake I've ever made, it's great as cupcakes or in cake form. It's SO incredibly moist and chocolatey. I'm always messing with recipes, but this one is so perfect I always make it as is. I get SO many compliments on it. For the people who said it's not super chocolatey, I'm thinking maybe they either cooked it too long (dryness always detracts from taste) or used low-quality cocoa powder. I've made it with regular Hershey's and it's definitely great, but it's noticeably better (as anything would be) with high-quality cocoa (Scharffen Berger is easily available around here and also delicious). I like it best with a nice fluffy peanut butter frosting. Today I'm making it with oreo cream cheese frosting for my mother-in-law's birthday. I will never use another chocolate cake recipe... I can't rave enough about it! Just try it, you'll understand : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
The cake was moist enough but the frosting got hard too quick. I don't like fudge so it was too much for me. It seemed to get better as the days went on. It lasted 3 days. My husband loved it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I love to make things from scratch and this cake came out wonderful! Be sure to coat the pans extra heavy! I used glass pyrex pans and 2 stuck while the last one came out smoothly after i super duper coated it with real butter and flour. for the recipe- I used Swans cake flour instead of normal flour. It came out light and fluffy and moist! Wasnt crazy about the icing- a little too sweet- so I made a marshmallow icing instead- but since i already made the choc icing i used that in the layers and the marshmallow icing for the outside of the cake. I used Rachel Rays Recipe and used 1/2 the sugar it called for, for a less sweetness. The cake is very sweet within itself so I think it needs a mild tasting icing to compliment it- The cake turned out delicious- In fact, Im making it again tomorrow! I read a review on here that used Cannoli Filling- So i will try using this to layer the cakes then use the rest of the marshmallow icing on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Very good. Needed the icing though. The cake is dense and flavorful but not as chocolatey as I had hoped for on its own. With the icing it was a perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 626) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States