Sandy's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This cake SHOULD NOT be ruined with frosting. I PROMISE that it is moist, dense yet spongy, and perfectly sweet by itself -- simply incredible. I bake it in a tube pan with the 9-serving alterations and bake for 50 minutes instead of 35 (required for a tube pan). You will thank yourself for taking the time to bake this. The frosting recipe is only okay -- again I PROMISE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This cake has a really good flavor, however, it's very delicate to make and every time I make it, I get different results. It either comes out wonderful and fluffy OR it comes out very dense, almost like a brownie. Can't figure out why. One time I used exact same ingredients and baked them in two different pans one after another because both won't fit in my oven on the same rack. One layer came out wonderful, another layer was very dense. The frosting is wonderful, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I was looking for an easy chocolate cupcake recipe. This was perfect. I cut the recipe in half and it made 2 dozen cupcakes. I baked for 10 minutes. It went great with a buttercream frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Everyone who has EVER, and I mean ever tried this cake when I make it LOVES it! Even if they say "well I really don't like chocolate, or cake, or chocolate cake." (I know, who knew those people existed!) I do use hot coffee in place of my boiling water, really sets off the chocolate flavor, but does not give a true coffee flavor (some may be able to taste it, but not many). I a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This cake should get way more love than it has, even though it's gotten a lot of love. It is so amazing and velvety and soft. God. I love it. I wish I were eating a piece right now. This is one of maybe 7 or 10 recipes that I would not change AT ALL. It's so moist and beautiful. Truly an amazing cake. Thank you so much for sharing it, Sandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Really terrific chocolate cake. Good taste that is both rich and subtle at the same time. Not greasy (and for those with reflux I found this didn't repeat on me much). Plan to make again. Made enough for a 2 layer cake and then some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I've been looking for a great chocolate cake, and with a couple alterations I have found it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Granite Shoals, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by opheliamiller
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This cake is AWESOME!!! I've made it several times but as a fondant cake. Everyone is pleasantly surprised that there is a luscious chocolate cake under the fondant. I also used strong coffee instead of boiling water which gave the cake a richer taste. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Excellent just the way it was. I didnt change the recipe at all. It was moist and chocolatey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Cake was ok, using hershey chocolate bar might of tasted better. Didn't care for the frosting, ready made would of been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darky

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States