Sandy's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Best chocolate cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
So much chocolate! I loved the texture of the cake. I added some cocoa powder to the frosting as recommended by a couple of the reviews. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This is a moist, rich chocolate cake with the perfect frosting compliment. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This was my first time making a cake from scratch, and it turned out great. The cake itself is really good. It's nice and moist and tastes great. However, the frosting is extremely sweet, so I would recommend only taking small pieces if you use this frosting. I have a huge sweet tooth, and even I had a hard time finishing my piece because of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I've made this cake twice now. It is delicious and moist! a bit time consuming but well worth it. I was able to make 3 dozen cupcakes and fill two 6inch square cake pans. The 2nd time I filled four 9 inch round cake pans but if you want thicker layers I'd do three pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
made enough for two cakes - could easily half this and have the perfect sized cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Amazingly delicious chocolate cake! I am a cupcake person myself, and so I only used the actual 'cake' recipe, not the icing. The recipe made delicious, moist, chocolaty cupcakes, but it made a LOT of them. The first time I made this recipe, I ended up with 45 cupcakes, and I only needed 24 (eep!). It's a very very good, high-quality chocolate cake recipe, but if you're using it to make cupcakes, half or quarter it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
OMG WOW!!! I am a full-time baker/cake decorator and therefore usually immune to cake, but even I couldnt keep my hands out of this one! I reduced the serving size to 9 which easily filled a 9x13 pan. The only change I made was to sub 1 cup buttermilk + 1/3 cup butter (microwave 30 sec and mix) for the sour cream. Baked in a glass pan even the edges came out soft and fluffy and cutting it was a dream. It was dense but still moist and fluffy and this will definitely become my go-to chocolate cake for shaped cakes! thank you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELISSABEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
light fluffy cake perfect frosting. We loved this cake! Will definately be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is THE BEST chocolate cake recipe I have ever made! I have made it several times and it consistently comes out perfect! Add 1 1/2 cups of mini chocolate chips and try it in 2 loaf pans!Amazing cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 626) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States