Sandy's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
*** Cake Rating Only*** This will now be my go to chocolate cake. The texture, moistness and flavor is the best I have tasted. I have made and rated the top 3 cakes on this site. This one is the best of them all. I only made two changes and that was to increase (by accident) the vanilla extract to 2 teaspoons and used some weak coffee I brewed in my french press instead of the plain boiled water. I lowered the recipe level from 12 to 9 (since I was only making cupcakes) and baked them for 19 minutes. It made about 30 cupcakes. 30 super perfect chocolate cupcakes! Thank you SOOOOOOO much for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Best chocolate cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
So much chocolate! I loved the texture of the cake. I added some cocoa powder to the frosting as recommended by a couple of the reviews. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This is a moist, rich chocolate cake with the perfect frosting compliment. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This was my first time making a cake from scratch, and it turned out great. The cake itself is really good. It's nice and moist and tastes great. However, the frosting is extremely sweet, so I would recommend only taking small pieces if you use this frosting. I have a huge sweet tooth, and even I had a hard time finishing my piece because of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I've made this cake twice now. It is delicious and moist! a bit time consuming but well worth it. I was able to make 3 dozen cupcakes and fill two 6inch square cake pans. The 2nd time I filled four 9 inch round cake pans but if you want thicker layers I'd do three pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
made enough for two cakes - could easily half this and have the perfect sized cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Amazingly delicious chocolate cake! I am a cupcake person myself, and so I only used the actual 'cake' recipe, not the icing. The recipe made delicious, moist, chocolaty cupcakes, but it made a LOT of them. The first time I made this recipe, I ended up with 45 cupcakes, and I only needed 24 (eep!). It's a very very good, high-quality chocolate cake recipe, but if you're using it to make cupcakes, half or quarter it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
OMG WOW!!! I am a full-time baker/cake decorator and therefore usually immune to cake, but even I couldnt keep my hands out of this one! I reduced the serving size to 9 which easily filled a 9x13 pan. The only change I made was to sub 1 cup buttermilk + 1/3 cup butter (microwave 30 sec and mix) for the sour cream. Baked in a glass pan even the edges came out soft and fluffy and cutting it was a dream. It was dense but still moist and fluffy and this will definitely become my go-to chocolate cake for shaped cakes! thank you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELISSABEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
light fluffy cake perfect frosting. We loved this cake! Will definately be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States