Sandy's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This cake is excellent but not the typical chocolate cake you might expect. I was surprised by the taste at first since it was not overwhelmingly sweet but my family absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Makes about 48 cupcakes, and the recipe is great without a single change. Haven't tried the frosting yet, but the cake is moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Monte

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Have made it and it is the best tasting chocolate cake. It is moist and lots of chocolate flavor w/o it being sweet. I always get tons of compliment and recipe request for it. I live 10,000ft above sea level so it is a challenge to make this. You have to have a great oven that can retain constant heat (my husband have a 5-star stove). Turn off the convection. Other than that, I just bake them in two separate 9-in round pans and followed the recipe. I used a different frosting. It was too sweet and grainy for me. I used this one: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/rich-chocolate-frosting-2/detail.aspx That frosting just taste like a chocolate truffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Very good. I did add instant coffee granules to the boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is delicious..my go to chocolate cake recipe,very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This cake is amazing. But I didn't use the frosting. So no review on that. However, every time I make the cake, there are always compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This is the fluffiest, most moist and most delicious chocolate cake I've ever tasted, not just made. Just melts in your mouth. I haven't made the frosting though since I'm not a fan of frosting, but the cake was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Incredibly wacko awesome! I can't believe how delicious this cake is! I'm a cake connoisseur by 'nature' and this is the best chocolate cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I really enjoyed the texture of this cake. It was very easy to work with. I wasn't knocked out by the chocolate flavor - I would not describe it as "rich" by any means - but one can always up the chocolate quotient with mix ins. This cake can stand up to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOTHEBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
The moistest chocolate cake the I have ever had. It is absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States