Sandy's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
HORRIBLE CAKE DO NOT MAKE. It was OK just it was super dense and not a fluffy cake at all of what the picture looks like. It was chewy and dense and it was not what a great chocolate cake should taste like!! Do not waste your time on this cake!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE_mygirls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spooner, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by imtassiethatsme
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This is a fantastic cake!! I had made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imtassiethatsme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
EVIL! this cake is EVIL!!!!!!!!!!!!! i just ate an ENTIRE LAYER in ONE SITTING and i want more!!!!!!!! i don't even like cake that much?? wtfreak!! this cake belongs in hell. it's too good to feel guilty getting fat off of.. its the devil.. i cannot cook this again because IT WON'T MAKE IT TO THE FROSTING STAGE!!!!!!!!! it!! why?? why did i have to land on this page?? why is this cake so perfect?? i don't even want to know how it would taste with the frosting. i can't. no. now i have to do cardio for at least 5 hours to burn off all those calories!!!!!! IT'S EVIL I TELL YA!! EVIL!!! STAY AWAY IF YOU KNOW WHAT'S GOOD FOR YOU!!!!!!!!! this should be illegal. seriously. illegal. the united nations should go ahead and make a law banning the baking of this cake worldwide. no one can justify eating an entire layer YET NO ONE WILL BE ABLE TO RESIST THAT DARN WARM LAYER OF CHOCOLATEY GOODNESS!! i hate you cake. i hate you so much. i hope i don't get diabetes.. i hope my husband doesn't discover what i've done.. i hope i don't get fat.. i'm so lost.. and confused..and alone.. someone, someone PLEASE SAVE ME FROM MYSELF. my hubby is gonna be home in 15 minutes. i need to clean up all the evidence that such a cake existed. i just had to come here and WARN YOU ALL against this devilish cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very moist, chocolately cake. Will definitely make again. The frosting is VERY sweet, a little too much for my taste, and I found that making a raspberry sauce and adding it on top of the frosting made the cake absolutely perfect. I've gotten requests to make the cake for others already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mowbray, Western Cape, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I think this is the best chocolate cake that I have ever had. I followed the recipe exactly, and used a high quality cocoa powder, and it came out rich, moist, and very chocolatey. I was a bit skeptical of the icing with so much sour cream, and I agree with other reviews that it was tangy, but it had a wonderful consistency and the flavor worked perfectly with the richness of the cake. I made this as a birthday cake for a party of 9, and everyone raved about it, and 4 of them even told me it was by far the best chocolate cake they have ever had. Great job Sandy, and thanks for sharing your prized cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was my first try at making a chocolate cake. It turned out really well. I didn't use the icing but the cake was gone in less than 2 days! My family loved it. The cake is moist, soft and so delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This cake is AWESOME!!!! I'm a whole ingredient cake snob and this recipe is fantastic - simple yet rich, and got rave reviews from family and friends. Good work Sandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Very Good and Moist! Even better when undercooked I took it out a few minutes before it was done because the middle was sinking in and then i froze it and it was VERY moist it was almost like eating fudge or brownies. Every time I make this cake I get compliments on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This cake is simply orgasmic! Light and fluffy with a rich taste. The kind of cocoa you use will also make a BIG difference, I used a fair trade organic cocoa that has a full chocolate taste, Fry's cocoa is not real cocoa in my books. Try also using melted dark chocolate. I used dark brown sugar instead of a light brown sugar and only put 1 tsp of vanilla. This made for a more balanced aroma. Way to go Sandra!!! and thank you for sharing it with the world! This is my Valentine's cake and all time cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is the first time I've ever made cake from scratch. I made it for my husband's birthday. We all loved it. My husband usually only takes a small sliver of cake at parties. He tried this and went back for more. The cake is so moist and the frosting tastes like pudding made from hot chocolate. Yummm!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 628) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States