Sandy's Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is a 5-star recipe for what it is....EASY comfort food. Everyone in my family loved it. I followed others suggestions and baked covered for 45 minutes. Removed the foil, topped with a light sprinkling of french fried onions and baked for 10 more minutes. Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
It is possible to do this without all of the processed goods--which I think makes it taste MUCH better. I made "cream of chicken soup from scratch" on this website (using half and half). Because my husband has a gluten sensitivity, we used gluten-free quinoa rotini pasta. I chopped fresh mushrooms and carrots, added some frozen green peas, and used chicken pulled off of a leftover roast chicken plus some "mexican" shredded cheese. I only added an extra 1/2 cup of half-and-half. And I covered it and made sure to stir it twice--once at 22 minutes, and again after another 20 minutes. Then I took off the foil and let it cook for another 10 minutes. The noodles were cooked well, and everything was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I think it needed the macaroni cooked slightly as one reviewer said. I did not cook it first and mine turned out kind of firm, not soft as it should be and I even covered it in the oven. This reminded me of a bad tuna casserole! , even though it had canned chicken in it. needless to say , I will not fix again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Zapp Winningham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I make this all the time! I use fresh chicken breasts and mushrooms. Sometime also add the condensed cream of mushroom soup and the fried onions! It's easy and great for pot lucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was great! All 5 of my kids loved it! I used a jar of Alfredo Sauce instead of cheddar cheese and no onions cause thats what i had on hand. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crisi0069
Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA
Living In: Valley View, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
So delicious and so easy! I stir it halfway as others have suggested but otherwise it is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Super Quick & Super Easy!! The whole family love this! About to make it again for dinner tonight per hubby's request!! I'm gonna switch up a bit & use a different cream of ... soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loup City, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
After reading the reviews, I made the decision to cook the macaroni before adding it to the casserole ingredients. I think making this decision helped keep some of the excess starch and gummy-ness out of the casserole and I didn't have to worry about undercooked pasta. I used two large cubed chicken breasts that I sauteed with a little butter/EVOO before adding the chopped onion, FRESH mushrooms (I don't keep canned mushrooms on hand) and some fresh minced garlic in with it. This really only needed about 20 minutes in the hot oven to heat through, seeing as I pre-cooked the macaroni. We didn't really care for this as is. I think it could use some spices or something to make it a little more pleasing to the palate. It's a good start. I think using fresh chicken, fresh mushrooms and adding garlic made it a little better than written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I appreciate the ease of this dish and the flavor was good, but not great. It was a heavy dish and it seemed like it was missing somthing. I even added some garlic powder, but apparently not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by snoopy728
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Very good base to make to your individual taste. I used sour cream instead of soup since I had none. Used half the cheese, added celery salt, cayenne pepper, lemon zest, garlic clove and fresh basil. Added fresh green peas and topped with croutons. Baked an extra 20 minutes. Very rich, but the kids liked it. I would rate 5 stars, but I know it isn't very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Tuna Casserole

This incredibly simple tuna casserole uses just five ingredients.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Creamy chicken and vegetable filling topped with basil buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States