Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
EXCELLENT!!! First thing I made in my new food processor! New staple in my refrigerator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kewanee, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Sounds like my mother's recipe. I'm 64 yrs old and remember her grinding the balogna in the counter mounted hand crank grinder. It was great. (She also used to tell me that those little things in tapioca pudding were fish eyes). I'll try your recipe tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allen, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Wow does this ever bring back memories! My Grandma used to make this for every birthday party. She had an old fashioned meat grinder she used to use - thank God for food processors! She'd add a little dill pickle juice and maybe some chopped celery to add a little "crunch" but other than that this is a pretty simple and straightforward recipe. It's great on little potato rolls or white bread with the crusts removed and cut into little triangles. Kids go nuts for these and a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
We grew up on this however we made it with balogna, cheese(such as slices of american), sweet pickles, onion, and mayo. We still have get-togethers and somebody always has to bring balogna grind. We always used a meat grinder. Run pickles and onions through last to clean out grinder. Also our school made a version of this in the 60's. Don't knock it until you try it. May also add boiled eggs but will last longer in frig. if you don't. LOVE IT AND WAYS A REAL TREAT GROWING UP. Can use canned meats such as spam, luncheon meat or commadoties canned meat that people get in commadoties or Indian rations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was a blast from the past. I found this recipe completely by accident. Growing up in Pennsylvania, this was a lunchbox staple. I don't know how often I'll make it because my picky kids think it's weird, but I really enjoyed it! Thanks for bringing back a wonderful childhood memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Fine dining indeed. I remember Mom making this for us kids back in the 60s and we'd have friends over during the summer for lunch and she'd give us a big bowl of it with a loaf of bread and Kool Aid and send us all out to the patio and we were in Kid Heaven. Thanks for the good memory and hence that's why I gave it 5 "stars".!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicklet
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Made this just a few months ago, using the old fashioned grinder that I bought at an estate sale. My Mom's recipe. The same as above but you add a boiled egg and some American cheese to the grinded ingredients. Instead of pickle relish, you grind sweet pickles into the mix. It was always served with spaghetti soup (cooked spaghetti, butter, milk, salt and pepper). I am sure that it was a "Depression era meal" but I love it so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Party Meat! Thanks for the recipe. I had this recipe a while back but lost it. There seemed to be a debate amongst my coworkers on which was better...dill pickle relish or sweet pickle relish. Miracle Whip or Real Mayonnaise. Bologna or ham. I guess it's just a matter of taste. Heard the traditional birthday party 'party meat sandwich' was served on Pullman Loaf with the crusts cut off. In little triangles, of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swidgen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
What an awesome recipe to find on here! I remember making this with my Great Grandma when I was younger. She would get out the heavy hand cranked meat grinder, and let me put the ingredients through. Sometimes we would add hard boiled eggs, onions, or cheese as well. Always finished by running a few saltines through the grinder. We always called it "Monkey Meat". Not sure where the name came from...but that's what it is to me! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States