Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Made this just a few months ago, using the old fashioned grinder that I bought at an estate sale. My Mom's recipe. The same as above but you add a boiled egg and some American cheese to the grinded ingredients. Instead of pickle relish, you grind sweet pickles into the mix. It was always served with spaghetti soup (cooked spaghetti, butter, milk, salt and pepper). I am sure that it was a "Depression era meal" but I love it so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
try it with bell pepper so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cayce, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Party Meat! Thanks for the recipe. I had this recipe a while back but lost it. There seemed to be a debate amongst my coworkers on which was better...dill pickle relish or sweet pickle relish. Miracle Whip or Real Mayonnaise. Bologna or ham. I guess it's just a matter of taste. Heard the traditional birthday party 'party meat sandwich' was served on Pullman Loaf with the crusts cut off. In little triangles, of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swidgen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Sounds like my mother's recipe. I'm 64 yrs old and remember her grinding the balogna in the counter mounted hand crank grinder. It was great. (She also used to tell me that those little things in tapioca pudding were fish eyes). I'll try your recipe tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Fine dining indeed. I remember Mom making this for us kids back in the 60s and we'd have friends over during the summer for lunch and she'd give us a big bowl of it with a loaf of bread and Kool Aid and send us all out to the patio and we were in Kid Heaven. Thanks for the good memory and hence that's why I gave it 5 "stars".!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicklet
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
What an awesome recipe to find on here! I remember making this with my Great Grandma when I was younger. She would get out the heavy hand cranked meat grinder, and let me put the ingredients through. Sometimes we would add hard boiled eggs, onions, or cheese as well. Always finished by running a few saltines through the grinder. We always called it "Monkey Meat". Not sure where the name came from...but that's what it is to me! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I gave this a 3 because it needed a little more flavor. I added dill pickle instead of relish ,also added onion and a couple of hard boiled eggs. I put everything through the meat grinder, made a great sandwich. This is more like the one I had when I was growimg up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Whiteland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
We grew up on this however we made it with balogna, cheese(such as slices of american), sweet pickles, onion, and mayo. We still have get-togethers and somebody always has to bring balogna grind. We always used a meat grinder. Run pickles and onions through last to clean out grinder. Also our school made a version of this in the 60's. Don't knock it until you try it. May also add boiled eggs but will last longer in frig. if you don't. LOVE IT AND WAYS A REAL TREAT GROWING UP. Can use canned meats such as spam, luncheon meat or commadoties canned meat that people get in commadoties or Indian rations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Wow does this ever bring back memories! My Grandma used to make this for every birthday party. She had an old fashioned meat grinder she used to use - thank God for food processors! She'd add a little dill pickle juice and maybe some chopped celery to add a little "crunch" but other than that this is a pretty simple and straightforward recipe. It's great on little potato rolls or white bread with the crusts removed and cut into little triangles. Kids go nuts for these and a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I grew up eating this, too, only Grandma used bologna from Canada. Nothing against American bologna but Canadian bologna is just way better. Grandma also added half an onion and a little mustard. If you're looking for something to compare it to, it's kind of like deviled ham spread only with bologna. It's really like nothing you've ever had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States