Sandra's Persimmon Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Rich, dense, spicy/sweet, moist - mixed up and in the oven in probably under 5 minutes. This could not have been simpler. I have never eaten anything with persimmons before, but I am a confirmed fan now! And my house smelled oh-so-yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
very nice! I had some left over persimmon pulp in my freezer from the holiday's. I wish I would have had this recipe then! It was very easy to make! During Christmas I searched for recipes on the internet, friends, family...etc, what I came up with was good, but I think this was what I was looking for. I had it right out of the oven so I will be curious to see how it tastes when it has chilled overnight. I can already tell it is better than what I made for Christmas. I live in Indiana currently, and I have heard that there are many persimmon pudding critics here, I think they might be impressed with this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Really great recipe- I added some Grand Marnier to the whipping cream for a little kick, then tried it seperately with a high-end vanilla ice cream. My husband and 23 year old daughter had a noisy race to the kitchen when I mentioned there was one serving left....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Great recipe. Very, very simple to make. I used an 11 X 7 dish and added a dash of ground cloves. Everyone who has tried it has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
When I said I was bringing persimmon pudding to Thanksgiving dinner, everyone was very skeptical. However, after trying this dish, everyone was a fan. The only recommendation I would make would be to use a smaller pan because my pudding ended up very thin. Perhaps with a smaller pan the slices would be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Yummy! This is the recipe I will stick with. Smooth consistency and great flavor. It smelled so good while it was baking. My 6 yr. old daughter is learning to cook and this recipe was great for her because she just threw all the ingredients in the blender, pushed the button and it was ready for the oven! It comes out about 1/2 inch thick but that's how we like it, with a dollop of Cool Whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This recipe is delicious and apparently fairly forgiving. I had 3 persimmons, so that's what I used, I did not measure them, I just peeled them and stuck them in the blender...I also used 1 cup of sweetened condensed milk and 1/4 of skim milk instead of the 1 1/4 c milk it called for...then I added a dash of ground cloves and a dash of pumpkin pie spice. I baked it in a glass pie dish for 40 minutes and it is absolutely delicious and set up perfectly. I like it a little thicker, so the pie dish worked beautifully for my taste. I was not expecting such wonderful results since I so loosely followed the directions. It was a little lighter in color than I remember my grandmothers being, but it was also fluffier - I'm not sure that's the right word because persimmon pudding is by no means fluffy, but regardless, I really like it and I can't wait for my husband to get home and try it. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful recipe - I will make it again and again! (I also like the fact that there is no liquor in this recipe. Don't get me wrong, I like a good stiff drink, but I don't like alcohol in my food, particularly in my desserts, I think it ruins the flavor of the fruit or chocolate or whatever it's being blended with so thanks again!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I have made this pudding recipe several times. I take this every year to our family's Fall celebration at the Parke Co. Covered Bridge Festival...the recipe couldn't be easier and it bakes up perfectly...add a dollop of whipped cream and you've got Persimmon Paradise :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Good recipe. I baked mine in a 11 x 7 for 30 minutes and it came out fine; very moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Tried this recipe but made it gluten free by replacing the all-purpose flour with 3/4 cup tapioca flour. I knew the texture would end up being considerably different. Had to bake it for 45 to 60 minutes. Once it completely cools down and has collapsed all the way down to just a 1/4 inch thick, it taste GREAT!!! My wife and friend who can't eat gluten devoured almost all of it. The texture is like a cross between a very dense custard and jello. Throw some whipped cream on top and start eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States