Sandra's Persimmon Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This is probably a very good recipe, but I made a grave tactical error: Do NOT put this in a loaf pan. I wanted to give this as a gift, and a 9x13 pan just isn't a size appropriate for gift giving. I used a regular-sized loaf pan. I also added 1/4 c. of golden raisins because persimmon pud just isn't right without them. What a mistake!!! I baked it more than twice the directions at a slightly higher temp, and it never set in the center, when i turned it out, I got a lumpy, goopy glob. The crust was delicious, but this recipe isn't something that can be converted without adding extra eggs and more flour to bind it. I'd try it again, but not for gifts, and certainly never in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Rich, dense, spicy/sweet, moist - mixed up and in the oven in probably under 5 minutes. This could not have been simpler. I have never eaten anything with persimmons before, but I am a confirmed fan now! And my house smelled oh-so-yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
When I said I was bringing persimmon pudding to Thanksgiving dinner, everyone was very skeptical. However, after trying this dish, everyone was a fan. The only recommendation I would make would be to use a smaller pan because my pudding ended up very thin. Perhaps with a smaller pan the slices would be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Really great recipe- I added some Grand Marnier to the whipping cream for a little kick, then tried it seperately with a high-end vanilla ice cream. My husband and 23 year old daughter had a noisy race to the kitchen when I mentioned there was one serving left....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This recipe is delicious and apparently fairly forgiving. I had 3 persimmons, so that's what I used, I did not measure them, I just peeled them and stuck them in the blender...I also used 1 cup of sweetened condensed milk and 1/4 of skim milk instead of the 1 1/4 c milk it called for...then I added a dash of ground cloves and a dash of pumpkin pie spice. I baked it in a glass pie dish for 40 minutes and it is absolutely delicious and set up perfectly. I like it a little thicker, so the pie dish worked beautifully for my taste. I was not expecting such wonderful results since I so loosely followed the directions. It was a little lighter in color than I remember my grandmothers being, but it was also fluffier - I'm not sure that's the right word because persimmon pudding is by no means fluffy, but regardless, I really like it and I can't wait for my husband to get home and try it. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful recipe - I will make it again and again! (I also like the fact that there is no liquor in this recipe. Don't get me wrong, I like a good stiff drink, but I don't like alcohol in my food, particularly in my desserts, I think it ruins the flavor of the fruit or chocolate or whatever it's being blended with so thanks again!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very thin, sweet, and a lot of work for not a very good product. I think I'll make persimmon bread next time I have them laying around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Great recipe. Very, very simple to make. I used an 11 X 7 dish and added a dash of ground cloves. Everyone who has tried it has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Good recipe. I baked mine in a 11 x 7 for 30 minutes and it came out fine; very moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I'm not sure what I did here but this didn't work for me. It was a flat mushy mess!!! The flavor was good but something didn't work right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Very good persimmon pudding... we served it hot with a dollop of ice cream... hit the spot without being too rich...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States