Sandra's Persimmon Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Rich, dense, spicy/sweet, moist - mixed up and in the oven in probably under 5 minutes. This could not have been simpler. I have never eaten anything with persimmons before, but I am a confirmed fan now! And my house smelled oh-so-yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Really great recipe- I added some Grand Marnier to the whipping cream for a little kick, then tried it seperately with a high-end vanilla ice cream. My husband and 23 year old daughter had a noisy race to the kitchen when I mentioned there was one serving left....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Great recipe. Very, very simple to make. I used an 11 X 7 dish and added a dash of ground cloves. Everyone who has tried it has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
When I said I was bringing persimmon pudding to Thanksgiving dinner, everyone was very skeptical. However, after trying this dish, everyone was a fan. The only recommendation I would make would be to use a smaller pan because my pudding ended up very thin. Perhaps with a smaller pan the slices would be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This is probably a very good recipe, but I made a grave tactical error: Do NOT put this in a loaf pan. I wanted to give this as a gift, and a 9x13 pan just isn't a size appropriate for gift giving. I used a regular-sized loaf pan. I also added 1/4 c. of golden raisins because persimmon pud just isn't right without them. What a mistake!!! I baked it more than twice the directions at a slightly higher temp, and it never set in the center, when i turned it out, I got a lumpy, goopy glob. The crust was delicious, but this recipe isn't something that can be converted without adding extra eggs and more flour to bind it. I'd try it again, but not for gifts, and certainly never in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Very good persimmon pudding... we served it hot with a dollop of ice cream... hit the spot without being too rich...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I'm not sure what I did here but this didn't work for me. It was a flat mushy mess!!! The flavor was good but something didn't work right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
very nice! I had some left over persimmon pulp in my freezer from the holiday's. I wish I would have had this recipe then! It was very easy to make! During Christmas I searched for recipes on the internet, friends, family...etc, what I came up with was good, but I think this was what I was looking for. I had it right out of the oven so I will be curious to see how it tastes when it has chilled overnight. I can already tell it is better than what I made for Christmas. I live in Indiana currently, and I have heard that there are many persimmon pudding critics here, I think they might be impressed with this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Yummy! This is the recipe I will stick with. Smooth consistency and great flavor. It smelled so good while it was baking. My 6 yr. old daughter is learning to cook and this recipe was great for her because she just threw all the ingredients in the blender, pushed the button and it was ready for the oven! It comes out about 1/2 inch thick but that's how we like it, with a dollop of Cool Whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Good recipe. I baked mine in a 11 x 7 for 30 minutes and it came out fine; very moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ExMilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States