Sandies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These are good, used 1 cup pulverized pecans. Tastes like a pecan shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This cookie is the most requested cookie I bake. I have had this recipe for many years and have been making them every year for Christmas for over a decade. I have to make about 9 batches of batter to accommodate all of the people on my cookie list, some of which start asking for these cookies around the end of November. This recipe is great as it is written and the key is the sifted flour and refrigerating the batter for a few hours, it makes them tender and fluffy. A tip for working with the chilled dough would be to roll the dough prior to chilling and put parchment between the layers so they don’t stick to each other while in the refrigerator. I let them cool completely before rolling them in the powered sugar so they don’t get too sticky and this also keeps them from falling apart. There is so much butter in this recipe that even completely cooled they absorb the powered sugar and this also keeps them from becoming overly sweet. They are melt in your mouth delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These were amazing!! Followed the recipe exactly. Dangerously addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ::Annie::
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I had never had these freshly baked. I've only had the Sandies that are store bought. I decided to make them for my boyfriend, since he loves the store bought ones, and I think I just secured an engagement ring.. lol They came out awesome! I didn't alter one thing. It does seem like a lot of butter, but they came out great, so I don't want to mess with a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ::Annie::

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Mmm! I made these for the local nursing home and was told that they were the best!! I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
AMAZING!!!! :) These cookies are sooo addicting! I did use 2 cups minced pecans, increased the white sugar to 2/3 cup and ommitted the confectioner's sugar. They are absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maywood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
my mom use to make these when i was little the best cookie out there for christmas time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These turned out just the way I remembered them as a child! Made them as recipe states and they were wonderful. (If you are looking for a "moist" cookie don't bake these.) They will crumble if you try to remove them from the cookie sheet too soon. They will however melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
These are my favorite cookies but I could only ever find them around Christmas...grrrrrr. So glad I looked them up because I will never ever go back to pre-made from a store!!! It took less than 5min to have them ready and on the pan... chocolate chip cookies take longer. SOOOO GOOD will make these a tradition in my home christmas or not:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Delicious little morsels, but not very sweet at all - even with being rolled in confectioners' sugar. I ground the pecans instead of leaving them chopped up. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States