Sandies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This cookie is the most requested cookie I bake. I have had this recipe for many years and have been making them every year for Christmas for over a decade. I have to make about 9 batches of batter to accommodate all of the people on my cookie list, some of which start asking for these cookies around the end of November. This recipe is great as it is written and the key is the sifted flour and refrigerating the batter for a few hours, it makes them tender and fluffy. A tip for working with the chilled dough would be to roll the dough prior to chilling and put parchment between the layers so they don’t stick to each other while in the refrigerator. I let them cool completely before rolling them in the powered sugar so they don’t get too sticky and this also keeps them from falling apart. There is so much butter in this recipe that even completely cooled they absorb the powered sugar and this also keeps them from becoming overly sweet. They are melt in your mouth delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
These are great cookies. I used 2 cups of minced pecans instead of 1, the consistency was perfect. I made alot of them and put most in a container in the freezer. When company stops by I take a handful out and they thaw in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Melt-in-your mouth goodness! These tender and flavorful cookies are very easy to make. The dough is easy to handle. I used pecans purchased online direct from a grower ($2 cheaper per pound than at the grocery store!), and double-strength pure vanilla extract. I have tried other recipes through the years in a quest to find THE BEST Mexican Wedding Cakes/Russian Tea Cakes/Viennese Crescents...with the discovery of this recipe, my search is over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
I made this recipe as gifts this year for Christmas just as my grandmother and I would do years ago with the same recipe when I was a child. It's excellent and the cookies are always well received. Everyone loves and enjoys them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ::Annie::
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I had never had these freshly baked. I've only had the Sandies that are store bought. I decided to make them for my boyfriend, since he loves the store bought ones, and I think I just secured an engagement ring.. lol They came out awesome! I didn't alter one thing. It does seem like a lot of butter, but they came out great, so I don't want to mess with a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ::Annie::

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
These were good, quick, and easy. I ran out of butter, so I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 margarine and they came out fine. I chilled the dough in the freezer for about 45 minutes (until firm enough to roll) instead of the fridge for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I used almonds instead of pecans and made these for Easter and they were such a hit. I also made sure I had plenty of powdered sugar to really coat the cookies. These are great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This recipe was really tasty. I was surprised that such a small amount of sugar could taste sweet. I did make mines 1/2c of sugar though. I like the cookies even without the powdered sugar. And I did not sit the dough in fridge for 4 hours. M butter was softened room temp. and the dough was stiff enough to cook after mixing. And while the first batch cooked, I put the remains in the freezer. So part of it chilled for the 20 mins. of cook time for the first batch. They are really yummy. I will make this for christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I liked the taste of these cookies, and they satisfied my craving. I only had 1/2 cup of minced pecans, and I used those. I refrigerated mine overnight (didn't mean to, but got called into work) and they were quite hard the next day when I was ready to make them, but we made do. When I took them from the oven and put them in the powdered sugar, they fell apart - just a bit too tender. I think I should have baked them a couple minutes longer. Melt in my mouth good, this recipe is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
this is delicious!! I made this for Christmas and everyone just couldn't get enough of it. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dededo, Dededo, Guam
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States