Sandies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
AMAZING!!!! :) These cookies are sooo addicting! I did use 2 cups minced pecans, increased the white sugar to 2/3 cup and ommitted the confectioner's sugar. They are absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maywood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This cookie is the most requested cookie I bake. I have had this recipe for many years and have been making them every year for Christmas for over a decade. I have to make about 9 batches of batter to accommodate all of the people on my cookie list, some of which start asking for these cookies around the end of November. This recipe is great as it is written and the key is the sifted flour and refrigerating the batter for a few hours, it makes them tender and fluffy. A tip for working with the chilled dough would be to roll the dough prior to chilling and put parchment between the layers so they don’t stick to each other while in the refrigerator. I let them cool completely before rolling them in the powered sugar so they don’t get too sticky and this also keeps them from falling apart. There is so much butter in this recipe that even completely cooled they absorb the powered sugar and this also keeps them from becoming overly sweet. They are melt in your mouth delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These are good, used 1 cup pulverized pecans. Tastes like a pecan shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michiganfoodie
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
These cookies are pretty good, however I have two other recipes that I prefer that are very similar. I think the sugar should be increased to maybe 1/2 cup. I would like them just a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michiganfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
These cookies were not that bad but I was unsure as to what "white sugar" was so I took a guess and used granulated table sugar. This I believe caused the cookie to be too hard, I was hoping for a nice soft melt in your mouth type cookie. Next time I will try powdered/confectioners/10X sugar and see if that makes a difference. I am sure the reason why these cookies didn't rate 5 stars was my own fault for the sugar gaffe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Just a little warning about these cookies, they are addicting!!! Wonderful little butter morsels. I didn't have any pecans and these still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
These were easy to make, and delicious! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Melt-in-your mouth goodness! These tender and flavorful cookies are very easy to make. The dough is easy to handle. I used pecans purchased online direct from a grower ($2 cheaper per pound than at the grocery store!), and double-strength pure vanilla extract. I have tried other recipes through the years in a quest to find THE BEST Mexican Wedding Cakes/Russian Tea Cakes/Viennese Crescents...with the discovery of this recipe, my search is over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This recipe was really tasty. I was surprised that such a small amount of sugar could taste sweet. I did make mines 1/2c of sugar though. I like the cookies even without the powdered sugar. And I did not sit the dough in fridge for 4 hours. M butter was softened room temp. and the dough was stiff enough to cook after mixing. And while the first batch cooked, I put the remains in the freezer. So part of it chilled for the 20 mins. of cook time for the first batch. They are really yummy. I will make this for christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
These were good, quick, and easy. I ran out of butter, so I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 margarine and they came out fine. I chilled the dough in the freezer for about 45 minutes (until firm enough to roll) instead of the fridge for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States