Sand Art Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2000
I WAS THE DIRECTOR OF CRAFTS FOR VACATION BIBLE SCHOOL. I USED THIS RECIPE AS A PROJECT WITH THE CHILDREN AND WHEN THE ADULTS SAW HOW MUCH FUN THE CHILDREN WERE HAVING THEY JOINED US. THE COOKIES ARE VERY GOOD. ONE OF THE TEENAGE GIRLS WENT HOME AND BAKED HER COOKIES AND THEN BROUGHT THEM BACK TO THE CHURCH. I MADE AN ASSEMBLY LINE OF THE INGREDIENTS, HAD THE PAPER ON THE TABLE MARKED WITH THE AMOUNTS NEEDED, AND I HAD PURCHASED DISPOSABLE MEASURING CUPS. EVERYTHING WENT WELL. WE COVERED THE LIDS WITH HERSHEY KISS FABRIC, USED RIBBON TO TIE ON THE RECIPE CARD, AND WE WERE FINISHED. WE COMPLETED ABOUT 50 JARS AT CHURCH AND I MADE A FEW MORE WITH THE LEFT OVERS AT HOME. THANKS FOR YOUR RECIPIES AND WEB SITE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
This is an easy recipe and looks beautiful! A fun gift idea for any occasion. I found you can use the "seasonal" M&M's to make it appropriate for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
This recipe was great. I made them and gave out to everybody last Christmas. They looked really festive, pretty in the jar. Definite must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2000
I made these as thank you gifts for my son's teachers at the end of the school year. They loved them! I, also, tested the recipe out on my family. Excellent cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
This recipe is yummy. I added a half teaspoon of vanilla to the dough and it gave it a sweeter taste. I am making several of these for my nieces and nephews this holiday season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
I don't know how these will taste, but the jar sure is attractive. Very colorful. The arrangement of the ingredients is just right. I like how the flour comes after the brown sugar instead of something it can leak down into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I am planning on making these for Christmas gifts, so I decided to try them for myself. I thought the cookies were really good, chewy and crispy. My husband and daughter both loved them. They were easy to make and looked really nice layered in the jar. The typo must have been fixed, because the recipe now calls for 1/2 cup margarine and I had no problems getting the cookies to hold together. I am also thinking about trying them with chopped nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
Makes a great gift and everyone loves them! You can use different colored rice crispy's to make it even more colorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
I decided to use this recipe for my daughter's 5th grade class Valentine's Day Party. I cut the recipe in half and used a pint size jar. We put raffia and Valentine ribbon around the top of the jar with the recipe attached. All the kids loved the project and the kids loved baking the cookies at home. They said the cookies were "awesome". I will use this recipe for Easter gifts using pastel M&Ms for my Sunday school class. Thanks for a great idea!pattih5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I always make these recipes first before giving them as gifts. I followed the directions, added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and they were terrific! Using a small ice cream scoop to drop the cookies on the cookie sheet was VERY effective.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States