Sand Art Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
I gave these out as gifts before I tried the recipe. One person commented she needed to add more margerine because they didnt hold together. Another person commented they were hard to chew. I had to bake some to find out for myself. I agreed it needed more margerine and make sure to use mini M & Ms, the regular size fall out when you form the balls. The taste is good and my kids liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
We found that you need to use 1/2 cup margarine instead of the listed 1/4 cup. I believe this might have been a typo because every similar recipe has 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I am planning on making these for Christmas gifts, so I decided to try them for myself. I thought the cookies were really good, chewy and crispy. My husband and daughter both loved them. They were easy to make and looked really nice layered in the jar. The typo must have been fixed, because the recipe now calls for 1/2 cup margarine and I had no problems getting the cookies to hold together. I am also thinking about trying them with chopped nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
I decided to use this recipe for my daughter's 5th grade class Valentine's Day Party. I cut the recipe in half and used a pint size jar. We put raffia and Valentine ribbon around the top of the jar with the recipe attached. All the kids loved the project and the kids loved baking the cookies at home. They said the cookies were "awesome". I will use this recipe for Easter gifts using pastel M&Ms for my Sunday school class. Thanks for a great idea!pattih5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
Pretty easy. However, there's so much stuff in them that when you bake them they hardly stay together. In fact, some of mine broke apart even after completely cooling them. They're somewhat tasty, but they have too much 'stuff'. I'd cut one of the goodies out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
This is an easy recipe and looks beautiful! A fun gift idea for any occasion. I found you can use the "seasonal" M&M's to make it appropriate for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
Makes a great gift and everyone loves them! You can use different colored rice crispy's to make it even more colorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
The jars look great. The cookie tastes good, it a bit dry and hard. Would cut down on the amount of Choc. Chips, found there were too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I always make these recipes first before giving them as gifts. I followed the directions, added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and they were terrific! Using a small ice cream scoop to drop the cookies on the cookie sheet was VERY effective.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
I have to agree with an earlier post, too much stuff! I think I would leave out the M&M's even though the mini M&M's did look pretty in the jar. They baked a little dry, maybe better as a bar or with more butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States