Sand Art Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
To DECOY (and all): 5/8 cup is 1/2 cup plus 2 Tbsp. Had to figure that one out myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
If this is a gift, use a poem for the baking instructions and tape it to the jar. Here’s a little Christmas treat Let’s begin, start with some heat 350 degrees to be exact Grease a pan, 9 inches square, 2 inches flat Find a bowl, and pour the jar out Have some fun and mix it all about Add 1 tsp. vanilla, 2/3 cup oil Beat in 3 eggs, no need to toil Pour in the pan, get ready to wait 25-30 minutes or until baked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
Best brownies ever! is the regular reply I get with this recipe. I also changed the recipe to 1/3 cup oil, and found someone's calculation of 5/8cup = 1/2cup + 2Tbsp very helpful. This has become a regular on my gift giving list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kemp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Balgonie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
A chocolate lovers recipe for nirvana! Did this for a church bake & craft sale. Decorated the jar, put it on a tray and surrounded it with baked brownies. Did follow the advice of using 1/3 cup vegtable oil plus 2 tbs. of water. Advice: Tried it with 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips instead of 1/2 and 1/2 vanilla chips - DON'T. It was way, way to rich. The balance of chocolate and vanilla is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I gave this to a friend for a wedding shower present. Instead of putting it in a jar I put saran wrap in a 4 Cup measuring cut and put the ingredients in layers as directed. Then I gathered the saran wrap at the top and tied ribbons around it. Then I gave her a brownie pan and utensils. It went over very well, was cheap, easy, and unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Okay, can someone tell me where on the measuring cup is 5/8? I am not good at math so I had a hard time figuring out what the exact flour measurement was. It sounds like I'm the only one. The brownies were okay, very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
These brownies were great! Moist, just right! We used them for a fund raiser. I did modify the instructions to the 1/3 cup oil and 2 tbspns water, we did alot of taste testing before selling the jars, as it would reflect upon the school. One person even ordered 3 more jars after tasting samples we made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Beautiful presentation in the jar! Very good taste. I agree with others that 2/3 c. oil is too much. I tried the recipe with 1/3 c. oil and it's ok. Personally, I liked it made with 1/2 c. oil, and baked it for 28-30 min. for a chewy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
YUMMY!! Excellent brownie recipe whether you make them as gifts or not. (I did make some as gifts and everyone loved them.) I baked them in an 8 inch square stoneware pan (Pampered Chef. I used 1/2 cup of oil and baked for 35 minutes. Mmmmmm mmmmm. Oh, and when the brown sugar gets dry/hard in the jar, stick it in the microwave with a damp paper towl over the open top of jar and zap for a short time (not too long... don't melt the chocolate chips).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
I gave these to my children's teachers for Christmas. I added a wooden spoon from the dollar store and I did it all up with ribbon. They loved it. I also gave one to the principal and vice principal where I work. I added the wooden spoon but also a pyrex baking dish. Everyone who saw it was very impressed. The only difficulty I had was getting everything in and not all over the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States