Sand Art Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I love this recipe and have gotten rave reviews! I love the brown sugar flavor that is missing from other brownie mixes. My recommendation is to use DARK brown sugar - as it adds a much better flavor. Although I didn't really consider it until I read the comments of other reveiwers, it is a bit greasy - and I may try a bit less oil, but I love gooey brownies - plus the moisture extends the "shelf-life" - if they last that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This is excellent if you like decadent, rich, gooey brownies. However, I absolutely could not get the nuts to fit into a standard quart-size jar - be sure you use wide-mouth or 1-liter jar. That's okay, I'm not wild about nuts. I agree that it was way too oily, and will make with 1/3 c. oil and 2 TBSP water next time. Also, try peanut butter chips instead of vanilla chips, and try just 2 eggs for less cake-like brownies. Recipe also works well with 1/3 c. oil and 1/3 c. applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
I made these up for teacher's gifts for X-mas, and had a couple of the teaches asked for the recipe. These are very good. I love the combo of white and chocolate chips. I used 1/3 cup of oil as suggested by many others, and that amount was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
I found the brownies would have been wonderful had they not been so greasy. Unfortunately, too greasy to eat. Could it have been a possible typo?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
This is an excellent recipe. Made it three times this week for Teacher's Valentine gifts. Followed the advise on 5/8=1/2 cup + 2 tbls. Also added the wooden spoon idea. Very cute and inexpensive idea. Thank you for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra Yaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
These were excellent! Everyone loved them and they are extremely easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
I made these as holiday gifts and everyone loved them! I split the sugar layers (1/3 white, 1/3 brown, 1/3 white, 1/3 brown) for more visual interest. I made a waxed paper funnel to add the ingredients right to the bottom of the jar, then used a dry pastry brush to clean the inside walls of the jars after the flour and cocoa layers. I hot-glued a 1-ounce packet (or square) of bakers chocolate to the outside of each jar, and revised my instructions to use an 8x8" pan, 1/3 c oil, 2 tablespoons water, the bakers chocolate (melted), 3 eggs and 1 tsp vanilla, using a baking time of 25-35 minutes. (After they cool, sprinkle with confectioners sugar to dress them up a bit!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
I am making these jars for Christmas this year. Made some myself first and they're great! They look great in the jar as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
YUM! I had to make some for myself to taste test before giving out as gifts and these are delicious...and easy too. I may never buy brownie mix in a box again. I made without nuts for gifts as some people don't like nuts or are very allergic. Just as tasty without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
2 thumbs up ~ I made these as gifts and everyone gave them a rave review!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States